First Glock purchase, a rare issue?

Discussion in 'General Glocking' started by Charles Smith, Jan 27, 2017.

1. Charles Smith

Charles Smith

Hello, I'm new to the forum but not to shooting. I've been shooting for over 30 years. My daily carry gun was a Sig P229 .40, and only recently have I warmed up to the polymer offerings from the various brands. I want something lighter than the P229 for edc. After shooting many, the Glock 27 gen 4 was the perfect gun for me. I love almost everything about the gun. So, with some promo codes and a buyer's discount I ordered a new one from Sportsman's Guide. I accepted transfer from my FFL after only a quick look at the gun making sure it was the correct model. My mistake I realize for not being more thorough. I got home and after a quick wipe down shot 14 rounds, which were met with horrible results. Several failures to eject and many casings ejected into my forehead. I knew something was wrong. I stripped it to discover there was NO ejector in the gun. Not a broken ejector.....I mean it was absent. There was some wear on the anterior aspect of the trigger housing from the casings hitting it. Long story short, Glock has been great and the gun should be in their possession today after free overnight shipping. I realize I could have repaired it in a minute with the correct part, but chose to do it this way since it was literally brand new. Oddly enough, Anthony at Glock customer service didn't seem all that surprised with my issue and could only guess that somewhere along the line someone needed an ejector and snagged it out. I can't wait to get it back because I absolutely love the gun and want to put several hundred rounds through it to feel confident in it again. My questions to the forum are: 1) How in the world does such an oversight occur in possibly the most respected gun line in the world? and 2) Could there possibly have been any other damage to the gun having fired only 14 rounds with a missing ejector? I appreciate yo