First cutomer calling to "get rid of this VISTA crap"

Discussion in 'Tech Talk' started by aaronrkelly, Mar 18, 2007.

1. aaronrkelly

aaronrkelly

I have limited Vista experience, safe to say Im not impressed.

I have set in front of two Vista Home machines....brand new machines with hardware that would make XP fly and they run like crap. The "not responding" pops up in the window title 90% of the time.....lags hard. Seems everything takes twice as many steps and twice as long to do as a XP machine with half the resources.

I had a few customers call and inquire, I advise them to pass till the first service pack.

One didnt listen.

She just HAD to have Vista.....wanted me to install it on her old 1.4GHz Dell with 256MB of RAM.....I refused advising her Im not even sure it would RUN....let alone run decent.

She just HAD to have Vista so she went and bought a new PC with Vista installed.

1 week later she calls me. Apparently her new computer is a slug and some of her program are not compatible. I almost laughed at her on the phone, really I did.

Its official, I just hosed my first copy of Vista.

Out came Vista, in went XP Pro.

Now the machines FLYS.....no lag, no problems....everything works and shes happy.

I have YET to see what the big deal with Vista is. There is no way this thing is ready for prime time on lower powered, cheaper home PCs. It was PAINFULLY slow. Simple things like accessing the control panel took almost a minute of hard drive grinding before it popped up......

I dont understand what MS is thinking on this? I would NOT be impressed if my new PC ran like this?

Anyone else with me on this or Im I missing something?

2. IndyGunFreak

IndyGunFreak

While I think part of it is definitely Vista's ridiculous system requirements, also to blame are the absolute crap PC's that have been getting put out for several years.