close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Firefox issue

Discussion in 'Tech Talk' started by painkiller, Jun 19, 2007.

  1. painkiller

    painkiller

    Messages:
    144
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2004
    Location:
    Kommunist Republik
    i have been using firefox for maybe a year now,and love it!no more internet explorer for me i thought,well until last week!i dont know what happenend but now firefox will not load up anypages.it will load up a page,but i will get a blank white screen,that says done on the bottom,and i cant do anything.refresh,back,forward,stop buttons arent usable.nothing comes up.i have deleted the program,downloaded it again,with the same issues.there help links are of no use and i 'm going bat nuts!the version is the latest one on their website,cant recall which one.anybody have any clues?
     
  2. Washington D.C.

    Washington D.C.

    Messages:
    5,218
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2003
    Location:
    Woestyn Kusdorp

  3. FastZ

    FastZ

    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Location:
    Tennessee
    Good suggestion DC. And I believe the newest version of FF out at the moment is 2.0.0.4.
     
  4. Blitzer

    Blitzer Cool Cat

    Messages:
    12,111
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2004
    Location:
    The communist's play ground of OHIO
    Ditto++

    And check your hard drive's cache size and set it for fixed and at least twice the computer's system RAM after you clean the drive(s).
     
  5. painkiller

    painkiller

    Messages:
    144
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2004
    Location:
    Kommunist Republik
    how do i check my hard drive's cache size?i am running xp home,and am not sure.is it through the internet options?how do i clear the cache?is it the same as cookies and temp internet files?
     
  6. jkp1187

    jkp1187

    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2007
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
    Also, you need to think in Russian. You cannot think in English and expect it to translate. You must think in Russian.

    :animlol:

    Sorry, I've been waiting to use that joke for a while. This ends our brief thread hijack -- we return you to your regularly scheduled troubleshooting session.
     
  7. nickg

    nickg

    Messages:
    640
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2002
    DC - thanks for bringing this program to my attention. i downloaded it last night and ran it. WOW!!...if found stuff on there that i had NO idea was there, and things that other programs never found. :thumbsup: :thumbsup:
     
  8. painkiller

    painkiller

    Messages:
    144
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2004
    Location:
    Kommunist Republik
    DC--the programs were awesome!but am still unsure how to clear the cache on my harddrive and set it for twice the size and stuff.ran both programs and cleared temp internet folders and firefox still not loading.what can i do?
     
  9. Blitzer

    Blitzer Cool Cat

    Messages:
    12,111
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2004
    Location:
    The communist's play ground of OHIO
    http://www.mysuperpc.com/build/pc_assembly_needs.shtml

     
  10. Washington D.C.

    Washington D.C.

    Messages:
    5,218
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2003
    Location:
    Woestyn Kusdorp
    You may want to completely uninstall Firefox, then REBOOT the PC. Run Ccleaner click "Issues" icon this will sort some registry things then scan with AWC , then install Firefox and see how it works. You may want to reboot right after installing fitrefox before trying it.