Firefox help

Discussion in 'Tech Talk' started by ShipWreck, Dec 1, 2005.

  1. ShipWreck

    ShipWreck Beretta 92 Nut!

    Messages:
    4,584
    Likes Received:
    269
    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2005
    Location:
    Texas
    Trying to add extensions to the newest download.

    Everytime I try to add it, I get a warning from fireforx that says:

    "Software installation is currently disabled. Click Edit Options to enable it and try again."

    I have have gone into options and looked all over, but I can't see what and where to make a change to allow this.

    Can someone guide me here?
     
  2. Gmountain

    Gmountain

    Messages:
    473
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    May 8, 2004
    Location:
    Florida
    You might want to do a search on a spyware program called CoolWebSearch. I was just reading an article about this, and it can hijack your browser and disable the add/remove program option in windows. It is bad juju.
     

  3. Toyman

    Toyman

    Messages:
    2,600
    Likes Received:
    36
    Joined:
    May 6, 2003
    Location:
    West Michigan
    Options dialog, Advanced section, scroll down, under Software Update, There's a "Allow web sites to install software" Checkbox.
     
  4. WT351

    WT351

    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2003
    Location:
    Central Texas
    Yeah, what he said.
     
  5. Infidel

    Infidel

    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2001
    Location:
    CO
    Version 1.07 -- Tools | Options | Web Features
    Version 1.5 -- Tools | Options | Content
     
  6. DDH

    DDH 23 FEB 1945

    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2005
    Location:
    Northeast Wisconsin
    Start --> Control Panel --> Add or Remove Programs --> Firefox --> Change/Remove

    Glad I could help. ;)
     
  7. Brasso

    Brasso Millennium Member

    Messages:
    6,339
    Likes Received:
    2,159
    Joined:
    Dec 17, 1998
    Location:
    I'm not Jewish. I'm Messianic.
    If you just updated to the latest version, like I did, you will find that many of the extensions and themes no longer work. You'll have to wait till they are updated also.
     
  8. ShipWreck

    ShipWreck Beretta 92 Nut!

    Messages:
    4,584
    Likes Received:
    269
    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2005
    Location:
    Texas
    I have version 1.5 - Just updated.

    I am in content, but no matter what I check and uncheck, it doesn't help...
     
  9. Infidel

    Infidel

    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2001
    Location:
    CO
    Brasso hit it exactly. Most of the extensions for version 1.0x don't work with 1.5, and are disabled in the 1.5 installation. We have to wait for the extension authors to release a version compatible with Firefox 1.5.

    Also, you might need to kill and restart Firefox after changing that setting. I haven't experimented with that.

    I use only 1 extension, which I uninstalled from 1.5 (the extension was disabled in the 1.5 installation). Then I looked for and found a newer version that works with Firefox 1.5, and installed it. Everything was dead simple and easy, just clicking the buttons in Firefox 1.5.

    Good luck,
     
  10. Kastivich01

    Kastivich01

    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2005
    Yeah, then you can go back to using internet exploder ;T