Field Day Disappointment

Discussion in 'The Okie Corral' started by rrog, Jun 24, 2007.

1. rrog

rrog

I was really disappointed in the field day event I attended yesterday. I was able to talk my wife into taking our young girls with us to the METERS, Inc field day (middle east tn emergency radio service). They were all very nice and polite and after brief introductions with group members, they sent me over to the GOTA radio. Since I'm only a tech, that's the only one I could get on. It was a high dollar Ten-Tec radio. I tried for about 30 minutes to make a contact. I got one person in Georgia, and then tried working some stations anywhere from Florida to Pennsylvania to Arizona. I got great reception, but after that first contact, no one was able to hear me. One guy in western PA was making contact after contact. The extra class guy sitting with me kept pointing to me whne there was a chance for me to answer his cq. I'd answer and get nothing. Did this for 30 minutes. My wife and daughters were just standing there waiting and as you can imagine, they got pretty bored. Several of the other members came over to see what was going on and each one made a comment that I should be getting out better than I was. I was on the 80 meter band. But after the whole time, I still got nothing. The girls got antsy, so we finally left, with the METERS members scratching their heads trying to figure out what was wrong with the set up. They said it had something to do with it being one guy's radio and someone else's antenna.

A few weeks ago, I also talked my wife into going to a hamfest here in Knoxville. It was pretty weak too. So the chances of me getting the wife and kids to go to something like this again are slim. I was hoping we could all get on the radio and make some contacts, but it just didn't work out. I hope everyone else had better luck than me.

rrog
    ki4vyv

2. FN64

FN64