close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Factory loads or re-loads

Discussion in 'GSSF' started by Joe Mc, Jun 27, 2006.

1. Joe Mc

Joe Mc

What's the deal with ammo? I have been in two GSSF matches and use only factory ammo. Some guys I shoot with get discuraged about GSSF because they say some guys use lighter reloads even though they are not suppose too. Is re-loads illegal in GSSF?

2. casullman454

casullman454

You can but thay may not let you reshoot if you have a jam or other problem. yes thay do ask if it is reload or not if you have a problem:)

3. Don At PC

Don At PC Senior Member Millennium Member

Shooting reloads are and always have been legal in GSSF. The draw back is that if you have a malfunction and are shooting reloads you may not get a reshoot whereby if you are shooting factory you do get a reshoot. If reloads were such a great advantage I would have been a Master Class shooter years ago. Instead I am still an Amateur Class shooter. I suggest your buddies practice more, thats what makes winning scores not just by shooting reloads.
    ;)

To prove my point look at the thread near the top of this forum entitled "GSSF Hall of Fame" and scroll down and see how many times you see the name "Tony Clemens". He is one of the Best Master Class Shooters around and he shoots nothing but 9mm Winchester White Box. I think you will see my point. ;)

4. FESTUS

FESTUS Horse Whisperer

Amen to Don's comment.I use reloads only to compensate for my lack of natural talent so I can practice more....Wally World white box ammo is popular and probably only $2.00 a hundred more than my reloads ...but if one is trying to shoot 20,000 rounds a year and save their pennies to attend lets say 8 matches a year...well it adds up...:supergrin:

5. Norske

Norske Millennium Member

If you try to ban reloads all you get is reloads snuck into the match in factory boxes.

No one wants to have to stoop so low as to have to inspect ammo!