close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Expanding WiFi network.

Discussion in 'Tech Talk' started by Wulfenite, Oct 13, 2004.

  1. Wulfenite

    Wulfenite The King

    Messages:
    1,862
    Likes Received:
    5
    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2000
    Location:
    Pretty Fly for a White Guy
    I got a friend who wants me to put in a WiFi network at her home.

    Problem is its a large house with ends far apart and it has a lot of masonry construction.

    Is there a way that you can install a gateway/router/firewall transmitter at one end of the house then some sort of signal booster in the middle part of the house that will pick up the signal from the gateway and cast the signal to the far end of the house?
     
  2. Ripper_1394

    Ripper_1394 Need a Ride?

    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2004
    Location:
    Go North, Then Turn East
    You could always use the Powerline adapters.

    http://www.linksys.com/products/product.asp?grid=34&scid=33&prid=541
     

  3. NetNinja

    NetNinja Always Faithful

    Messages:
    967
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2001
    Location:
    HotLanta, GA
    Rent a Ferret and tie a string on his tail and put some cat chow on the other end where you want him to go, in this instance the other side of the house, when it gets to the other end untie the string.

    Now from the starting point tie the string to a Cat5 cable and pull it through!

    A whole lot cheaper than buying bosters.

    Yes if I remember correctly they do sell bosters.

    In fact here is a page you can look at from the linksys website.

    http://www.linksys.com/products/group.asp?grid=33&scid=38
     
  4. fastvfr

    fastvfr Ancient Tech

    Messages:
    2,344
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2001
    Location:
    SW Oregon
    Aside from Net Ninja's excellent suggestion, you might be able to get by with the plain-Jane Belkin Wireless Access Point.

    You probably won't need two of them, but as they do not need any sort of RJ45 connection, just a WL NIC in each PC.

    You'll need this little item anyway to set up the network with both PC's and add a Palm or WL laptop later, and expect them all to connect up, see each other, and communicate.

    An Ad Hoc WLAN can be configured with two PC's using no AP, but there isn't any way to set up a third PC on it without issues with crosstalk and conflicts.

    Just experiment with plugging the Access Point into different locales around the midpoint of the home until you find the place that works best.

    Sometimes just plugging the WL radio card into the uppermost PCI slot in the Connection-Sharing PC can extend the range enough; sometimes placing the PC on a desktop will wind up doing the trick.

    Good luck,

    FastVFR
     
  5. Wulfenite

    Wulfenite The King

    Messages:
    1,862
    Likes Received:
    5
    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2000
    Location:
    Pretty Fly for a White Guy
    I dont want to pull cable and the object is to have wireless access for a lap top all over the house.

    I followed the link NetNinja provided and surfed around to find this.

    http://www.linksys.com/products/product.asp?grid=33&scid=38&prid=629

    [​IMG]

    I think that will do the trick.

    I may have to adjust things a couple times before I get the spot right though.

    Is there a business market niche for being a self employed WiFi network installer?
     
  6. chevrofreak

    chevrofreak Senior Member

    Messages:
    2,696
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2001
    Location:
    Billings, Montana
    Unless its a massive house, I doubt there will be much problem. I actually get better reception on my laptop with the WAP on the 3rd floor, while I'm in the basement, than i did with the WAP in the basement with me.
     
  7. Roger C

    Roger C

    Messages:
    223
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 9, 2000
    Location:
    VA, USA