close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Electrical problem (newbie)

Discussion in 'Moto Club' started by 23glockrock, Mar 28, 2007.

1. 23glockrock

23glockrock

I bought a 2001 Yamaha V star 100 Classic about a month and a half ago. I've been learning to ride and last Saturday I took my longest ride yet (about 150 miles that day) with my father in-law. We had just split ways and I was headed home. Going about 60 down the highway when I notice my speedometer is jumping all around. The motor was still running fine. As I'm watching the speedometer I notice the odometer and gauge light blinking on and off. I pull off the freeway. I took the battery cover off and the brand new battery was bulging and steaming. I quickly took it out. Towed bike home and am now wondering what's next.

I'm brand new to motorcycles. What should I do to diagnose it? I don't know if it was just a bad battery? I think it's probably an overcharging issue from something in the electrical system. Where should I start? Let me say, I'm on a tight budget (I did just buy a motorcycle!) and I really want to find the problem using the cheapest option available. I don't want to pay to have it diagnosed if it's just a bad battery, but I don't want to ruin another battery if it's something else...where should I start?

Hopefully, I don't sound too stupid. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

2. Lotiki

Lotiki All that is man

If you go to a Checker Auto Parts store, they will hook your bike up and see if the electrical sytem is working correctly, putting out the correct charge, etc. It is completely free and it takes about 5 minutes (if the clerk knows what they are doing).

It sounds like a bad battery. However, it could just as easy be a generator(alternator) issue. Luckily, both of those problems are pretty easy and inexpensive to repair.