Glock Forum - GlockTalk banner

Glock20 as an EDC

• Yes

Votes: 74 66.7%
  • No

Votes: 33 29.7%
  • Think this is very useful tool to understand what my EDC should be.

Votes: 5 4.5%
1 - 20 of 98 Posts

·
Registered
23 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'd like to discuss the 10mm legal question with use of force for every day carry, and protection. Although I'm new to Glock pistols, I have over 40 years of handgun experience. Carried pistols throughout my adult life. What I would like to know is the legal aspect we hear happening around the U.S. on what caliber is the correct caliber to protect yourselves with and why court prosecutors put a vengeful disdain to large calibers like the 44 mag, 10mm, 357 mag. What are everyone's opinion of this, or if you have a legal background please explain.

·
Registered
13,072 Posts
I carry a G20 everyday and don't see that there would be any legal issue.
Now if I were loading it with 220 grain hardcast for trip to Walmart, then there might be an issue if I had to use it.

For urban carry I have 180 gr hollow points, but in a fairly light load.
When at our place in East Texas or any other place where four legged threats might exist, I use other loads that are more appropriate.

·
Registered
625 Posts
That varies so much by state and locality, you are going to get a lot of points of view as people respond. I think what got the "Don't use 10mm, the prosecutor will get you for OVERKILL!" thing started was the Harold Fish case in Arizona. But that trial was about a whole lot more than the caliber Mr. Fish chose to carry. To me, Mr. Fish had a lousy attorney, for one thing.