EBR users- question about eotech

Discussion in 'Black Rifle Forum' started by JTLIII, Mar 21, 2010.

  1. JTLIII

    JTLIII

    Messages:
    691
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2007
    Well, currently I have the eotech 512.a65 on my EBR, but I saw the 552.XR308 today and think I'd prefer that. I would also like to have a magnifier on the rifle as well. How would I mount this on the EBR? I've looekd for pictures of others doing this and came up with nothing.
     
  2. mvician

    mvician Lifetime Member

    Messages:
    3,149
    Likes Received:
    9
    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2007
    Location:
    NW Indiana
    Is your "EBR" a .308 cal?
     

  3. faawrenchbndr

    faawrenchbndr CLM

    Messages:
    39,754
    Likes Received:
    5,007
    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2005
    Location:
    east of East St Louis
    He's talking about a Sage International EBR stock for an M1A

    You would have to get a rail section that spans from the rail to the stripper clip guide. Can't remember who makes them.
     
  4. JTLIII

    JTLIII

    Messages:
    691
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2007
    Should I just get the standard M14 Springfield Armory type scope mount? Or is there another type?
     
  5. faawrenchbndr

    faawrenchbndr CLM

    Messages:
    39,754
    Likes Received:
    5,007
    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2005
    Location:
    east of East St Louis
    If I had a EBR M1A it would have glass on it, not a EOTech.

    It's your call
     
  6. JTLIII

    JTLIII

    Messages:
    691
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2007
    I have the Remington 700 for my long distance shooting. I'm trying to set this up as a halfway between that and my M4

    Plus, the reticle of the 552 308 is pretty much a crosshair with bullet drop lines and stuff. That plus a magnifier would be nice for some medium range shooting. I think...

    I initially wanted a nice scope on it, but then it would be just another long range rifle
     
    Last edited: Mar 21, 2010
  7. faawrenchbndr

    faawrenchbndr CLM

    Messages:
    39,754
    Likes Received:
    5,007
    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2005
    Location:
    east of East St Louis
    Ok,.....he is using a M14 Extended Scope Mount, Wire EDM, from Smith Enterprises. See link below

    http://www.smithenterprise.com/products03.html
     
    Last edited: Mar 22, 2010
  8. JTLIII

    JTLIII

    Messages:
    691
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2007
    $450 for the rail? no thanks.

    I'm not paying almsot as much as the stock. I'll just do without a magnifier
     
  9. JTLIII

    JTLIII

    Messages:
    691
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2007
    I found a rail riser that may work if I install a picatinny rail in place of the stripper guide.
     
  10. faawrenchbndr

    faawrenchbndr CLM

    Messages:
    39,754
    Likes Received:
    5,007
    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2005
    Location:
    east of East St Louis
    He uses the 7" model,.......GOOD mounts are NOT cheap.
    The Springfield model and some of the lesser quality ones will constantly loosen.
     
  11. JTLIII

    JTLIII

    Messages:
    691
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2007
    I was planning on getting a YHM rail riser and the standard stripper guide replacement piece. I don't think it'd come too loose and if it does...locktite
     
  12. MrMurphy

    MrMurphy ********* Moderator Lifetime Member Millennium Member

    Messages:
    12,972
    Likes Received:
    7
    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2001
    Location:
    Buried in the X-files
    Get the Sadlak mount, it has more rail than the Smith.

    Not a fan of Eotechs, especially on larger caliber rifles (battery box will be banging and eventually cause failure of the optic), but that is how i'd do it.