Easing the hammer down, problem?

Discussion in '1911 Forums' started by Blaster, Mar 19, 2010.

1. Blaster

Blaster Hunc tu caveto

I am very new to 1911s. In the process of shopping I was in a shop that is noted for building high end 1911s, $3K and up for their guns.

I was looking at a factory gun in their case and rather than just dry firing the gun to lower the hammer I put my thumb on the hammer pressed the trigger and lowered the hammer with my thumb. The sales guy just about jumped across the case and said "NO DONT DO THAT", "you could break the sear like that". I believe he said something about catching the sear in the hammers half notch.

What say you, any truth in what I was admonished for?

2. tous

tous GET A ROPE!

In my opinion, the sales guy is wrong.

Consider, when the hammer is released from the sear, does the hammer really care how fast it falls? :headscratch:

Yes, the hammer may engage the half-cock notch, but only if you let the trigger come forward as you lower the hammer. So what? That is by design. It is intended to catch the hammer should the pistol be dropped and land with enough force to dislodge if from the sear. It wouldn't be there if the sear couldn't snick in there. :supergrin:

Note: Series 80 Colt 1911s have no half-cock notch. The firing pin safety replaces that function.

I could be wrong. :whistling:

Last edited: Mar 19, 2010

3. Eyescream

Eyescream hates you

Tous, I demand you go into the do's and don'ts thread and teach me more stuff. :miff:

4. tous

tous GET A ROPE!

I was just sitting here wondering just what I would have to do to actually break a sear. I have seen very few legitimately broken sears, usually fractured where the hole is.

I guess if you work hard enough, you can chip the engagement surface, but dang it, these pistols were designed for GI use, in the fog of war and eleventy thousand rounds between depot refurb.

They ain't made of crystal, dang it.

Last edited: Mar 19, 2010
  5. Frequency

Frequency Wat