close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Early wake up call

Discussion in 'Firefighter/EMS Talk' started by eagles405, Apr 30, 2006.

1. eagles405

eagles405

I have been a volunteer firefighter for Appleby Volunteer fire Department about 8 miles outside of Nacogdoches Texas for about three and a half months and had a little excitement this morning. I had gone to bed at about 4 this morning after finishing a REAL good book. I woke up to my pager going off at 8 o clock this morning. so as I was halfway awake I heard them say something about the Nacogdoches fire dept... My mind is going my pager is not meant to pick up the Nacogdoches dept so by now I am really awake. They then repeat the message with the key word "mutual aid". I go "oh shoot!!!" Nacogdoches has five fully manned,fully paid stations, they are the ones normally coming to our aid. What kind of fire is this. So I through on my shoes and went to our station where my bunker gear is kept until I finish my probationary fire training. On the way I here that the fire is at Jitterbugs, the largest bar/ dance floor/ grill in town and is fully involved with all of Nac's firemen on and off shift fighting the fire. When I get to the firehouse I am assigned to the firetruck that stays at the firehouse in case of a call.:crying: Our second truck goes to the fire with SCBA's and spare full tanks requested while our last truck went to one of the stations in town that was empty to make any emergency calls. Fifteen minutes after our truck gets to the fire they go on pure defensive against the fire and then by about 2 they had the fire under control and started the clean up. The other truck in the station in town cut a person out of a car about 12:30 and myself and 3 other people sat around our station and did a little probationary training and did not make a single call. Now I am not really complaining that I did not get to the fire to help fight because everybody who went was much better quali