close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Dvd Back-up

Discussion in 'Tech Talk' started by BinLurking, Nov 28, 2004.

  1. BinLurking

    BinLurking Your Phone

    Messages:
    156
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2004
    Location:
    In your backyard
    What is a good software that will allow me to make back-up copy of a DVD movie? TIA.

    Doh, down there. Never mind. ;U
     
  2. chevrofreak

    chevrofreak Senior Member

    Messages:
    2,696
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2001
    Location:
    Billings, Montana

  3. troyboy30

    troyboy30

    Messages:
    164
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2003
    Location:
    Smyrna, GA
    I use 1clickdvdcopy, it's one of the few that support dual layer.
     
  4. chevrofreak

    chevrofreak Senior Member

    Messages:
    2,696
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2001
    Location:
    Billings, Montana
    For dual layer, DVD Decrypter works great. It can make an iso, then burn the iso if desired. I use it all the time as well.
     
  5. Cali-Glock

    Cali-Glock Mountain Man

    Messages:
    5,960
    Likes Received:
    656
    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2002
    Location:
    California Sierra Mnts
    My attempts to re-author using DVDshrink have failed miserably. I tried another experement after reading this posting just to see if I could figure it out again but no luck. The main problem appears to be the menus - they get out or order or something - :( Any suggestions?
     
  6. chevrofreak

    chevrofreak Senior Member

    Messages:
    2,696
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2001
    Location:
    Billings, Montana
    Are you wanting the menus or just the movie itself? I prefer to do the menu only because it gives the best quality, and the movie plays the instant you put the disc in.

    When you're on re-author, over on the right side it will show the contents of the discs. Click on the movie and drag it over to the box on the left.

    I prefer to have it set to iso mode over file mode, and i disable burning with Nero because it will try to burn the disc right away.

    Another option I enable is "Perform deep analysis before backup to improve quality" and "Compress video with high quality adaptive error compensation" checked, and "Maximum Sharpness" selected.

    If you ahve any more questions, dont be afraid to ask.
     
  7. troyboy30

    troyboy30

    Messages:
    164
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2003
    Location:
    Smyrna, GA
    1clickdvdcopy takes just that, 1 CLICK! no iso or nothin, I go from dvd player to dvd burner.
     
  8. Cali-Glock

    Cali-Glock Mountain Man

    Messages:
    5,960
    Likes Received:
    656
    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2002
    Location:
    California Sierra Mnts
    chevrofreak: Thanks a million!!! Doh! That makes sense!!!


    troyboy30: How much are dual layer disks? My new burner is dual layer but I have not yet tried burning dual layer. I have not shopped dual layer disks yet, but the ones I did see were about $10 a pop! Not worth it at that price!!!
     
  9. troyboy30

    troyboy30

    Messages:
    164
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2003
    Location:
    Smyrna, GA
    you can find em for as cheap as $8 if you search. They are pretty hard to find right now.
     
  10. chevrofreak

    chevrofreak Senior Member

    Messages:
    2,696
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2001
    Location:
    Billings, Montana
    Cali-Glock, I order all my media from www.supermediastore.com

    I get the ProDisc DVD-R's. Absolutely fantastic media.

    They even sell dual layer.
     
  11. Washington D.C.

    Washington D.C.

    Messages:
    5,218
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2003
    Location:
    Woestyn Kusdorp
    Around here dual layer disks are 5 times the price of single layer disks.Copying DVD movies is an interesting hobby but I can't see paying for very many DVD movies when the local library keeps fairly up to date and the rentals are cheap enough.If I wanted to watch movies more often I'd get cable or satelite TV.
     
  12. troyboy30

    troyboy30

    Messages:
    164
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2003
    Location:
    Smyrna, GA
    yea that would be great if they would alow me cable or the dish at work hu! lol

    Even cheaper way is if my DVR would record to a dvd recorded and not just a vcr.

    Until dual layer disk's drop in price it's prety close to cheaper to just get them from columbia house.