close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

DUI Saturation Patrols More Effective Than DUI Checkpoints

Discussion in 'The Okie Corral' started by NorthCarolinaLiberty, Feb 20, 2010.

1. NorthCarolinaLiberty

NorthCarolinaLiberty MentalDefective

I’ll begin this thread by saying that a friend and co-worker of mine was killed in a drunk driving crash when I was much younger. We worked together in a small grocery store, which was my second job. The guy had the driest sense of humor I’ve ever seen. He was 21 years old and was survived by both parents.

That accident happened years ago, but my wife and I still hate being on the road after 10pm with so many more drunks. I’m a good defensive driver, but it’s just easier to stay home and not bother with the hassle. These are two reasons why this topic is of interest to me.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------

The Madera California Police Department documented the number of DUI arrests resulting from both police checkpoints and saturation patrols in 2008. The results are taken from the document California Law Enforcement Challenge 2008, pages 18-19.

Madera’s Avoid the 21 program publicized the efforts of both saturation patrols and checkpoints on TV and radio.

11 CHECKPOINTS; 13 DUI Arrests; Average # of arrests is 1.1
    9 SATURATION PATROLS; 17 DUI Arrests; Average # of arrests is 1.8

-----------------------------------------------------------------------

And from Missouri:

A recent Missouri saturation patrol yielded 20 DUI arrests in 5 hours. A DUI checkpoint in Missouri using similar manpower, funding, and time (like those used in this saturation patrol) will invariably yield far fewer DUI arrests (Source: FBI Law Enforcement Bulletin, Jan. 2003).