close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Duel boot WinXP and Linux Suse 10.0

Discussion in 'Tech Talk' started by Tanman, Jan 12, 2006.

1. Tanman

Tanman

I just picked up a linux mag with a free copy of Linux Suse 10.0. I would like to duel boot my laptop with it. Any good guides out there?

2. Washington D.C.

Washington D.C.

It's easy to mess up your Windows XP.Back up everything you want to keep.Safest to get a small second hard drive for Linux.Safer than trying to resize Windows.

3. Tanman

Tanman

Well I just reformated the windows machine so there really isn't all that much to loose. Is it stable to run a duel boot like this?

4. Washington D.C.

Washington D.C.

Yes a it should be plenty stable.I've been running Windows and Linux on the same PC for 4-5 years now.This one has two hard drives but that soesn't matter.My other shares one hard drive and has been going for almost three years.

5. Washington D.C.

Washington D.C.

How big is your hard drive and how much memory do you have?

6. Tanman

Tanman

80gb and 1 gb

7. Washington D.C.

Washington D.C.

Okay that gives you plenty of space.Suse should have some defaults for sizing the Linux partitions.

8. Tanman

Tanman

What about drivers? Gateway doesn't offer a linux driver for anything.

9. Washington D.C.

Washington D.C.

Most all the drivers are included with Suse Linux.

10. David_G17

David_G17 /\/\/\/\/\/\/\/

if they're gonna duel, my money is on Linux!

11. nickg

nickg

i put Linspire on a 2nd HD on my desktop system. i didn't want to partition the one drive and would rather have 2 drives/2 different systems anyway and never the twain shall meet. don't have to worry about a drive cackin' out and losing everything. at least i'll still have an operating system if one drive dies.

12. fastvfr

fastvfr Ancient Tech

FWIW, I always use a second HDD with at least three partitions on it; one for /root, one for /home and a 1024MB swapfile part.