Dry Firing a G19

Discussion in 'Band of Glockers' started by chipglock, Jan 6, 2005.

1. chipglock

chipglock

Happy new year gentlemen,

Ive finally acquired my g19 (thanks again deenoh) and am not yet a member of any range, im scoping out the MCS area but am awaiting final word of whether to head for jethro or wait till northstar fixes its ventillation troubles. Im still a total newbie and my gun still hasnt fired any rounds pending a good mentoring in proper gun handling, safety and practical shooting tips (as well as the range membership of course :p).
    So being the excited pup that I am, I have been practicing my grip and dry-firing my new baby every night. Now the question is, would it be okay to do this without a dummy round? Some say yes, some say no. Your inputs would be appreciated. :)

Chip

PS
    I wont be online on sunday so let me be the first to greet HAPPY BDAY ALEXII :) ;)

2. mc_oliver

mc_oliver

Better safe than sorry, use a dummy round. ;)

3. antediluvianist

antediluvianist

Dummy rounds don't cost much. I buy them at Casa Armas in MCS. You only need one for a Glock, but get extras. Peace of mind, man. And as a newbie, you SHOULD dryfire a LOT. Especially with a Glock - light gun, your sight picture will wobble.

Still, don't be surprised if you fall prey to the "Beginning Glock Shooter's Curse" when you start shooting: impacts low and to the left of target.

4. Alexii

Alexii Janeway Forever

Thanks, chipglock! :)

I second the use of dummy rounds. Note that you only need to slightly retract the slide to reset the trigger. No need to eject the dummy round that way. Buy several dummy rounds as these are disposable items; if you see the hole where the firing pin impacts deepens, change to a new dummy round.