Dropping the Slide

Discussion in 'General Firearms Forum' started by DonD, Jun 1, 2020.

1. DonD

DonD

Maybe my background is not completely current but I have an observation.

It has always been my understanding that the proper way to release the slide on a semi auto with a loaded magazine was to relieve pressure on the slide stop by gently pulling back on the slide and simultaneously releasing the slide stop.

More and more I see videos of both supposedly highly skilled shooters as well as ordinary shooters just releasing the slide via the slide stop. Seems to me that this practice will result in accelerated wear. Comments? Don

Teecher45 likes this.
  2. bac1023

bac1023

I very rarely do that, as it can cause wear on the slide over time.

Last edited: Jun 2, 2020

3. ronin.45

ronin.45

It will only cause noticeable wear if your gun is of poor quality. The slide release is the best method.

4. pokersamurai

pokersamurai

Serious question, is your gun a tool or a showpiece?

If you gun is a tool for defending your life than hit that slide release and get that gun back into action as quickly and simply as possible.

If it’s a showpiece, than by all means, baby it as much as you want.

5. Deputydave

Deputydave Millennium Member

One of the instructor certifications I have is as an Israeli Instinctive Shooting Instructor. It was the most intensive combat course in firearms I every took. The method used to drop the slide is exclusively the slide stop/release lever. There are two main reasons;

1. It is quicker to simply sweep the slide stop/release lever down with the thumb. It is a gross motor skill that is easily remembered and used when under stress.
    2. It only requires one hand to utilize the technique.