close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Does anybody shoot buck, with buckshot?

Discussion in 'Hunting, Fishing & Camping' started by Minuteman, Aug 10, 2003.

1. Minuteman

Minuteman Jeff Gannon???

I'm thinking of getting a 26" benneli nova, camo, to start hunting. Now that I live near some wild and delicious animals. This will be my only hunting gun for a while.

I know that I can shoot slugs out of a smooth bore, but wouldn't 00 buck shot be a better choice? The area around here is hilly, dense forest, with small clearings. I have walked up on deer many times while walking through the woods. So most of the ranges will be short and fast. Keep in mind I'm a beginner at hunting.
    But it seems most things I read on line say go with slugs. So I would like to draw on your considerable experience.

I don't want to get a rifled shotgun, 'cus I would also like to get some goose and turkey. We also have pheasant and ducks(elk too, but that's by lottery, and my freezer isn't that big). All within an hours drive of my house. Actually I see most of these in my yard, but there is no hunting in the city. I don't want to kill the deer in my yard, their cheaper than lawn ornaments.

So, would you recommend buck shot or slugs for deer in my area with this gun? Any comments on the choice of gun would be welcome, too. It seems like the best all around choice for what I'm gonna TRY to get. I've seen them for $250 new on Gunbroker.

And no, I can't get two barrels right now, I'm just scrapping enough together for the shotgun and the hunters saftey course.
    Thanks in advance.
    :)

2. g21glock

g21glock Millennium Member

Better check your local laws before you use buck shot to hunt. It is illegal here in Tn and Al. Slug only for deer.

Safe shooting

3. noway

noway