close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Do Cable Modems Fail Frequently??

Discussion in 'Tech Talk' started by Point Blanks, Jun 28, 2005.

  1. Point Blanks

    Point Blanks

    Messages:
    944
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 3, 2001
    Location:
    Atlanta,Ga. USA
    I have a RCA cable modem provided by Comcast

    A tech told me they rarely go bad,is this true?

    Thx..
     
  2. bobby_w

    bobby_w Alienigena Platinum Member

    Messages:
    1,634
    Likes Received:
    5
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2001
    Location:
    South of Houston
    My Road Runner supplied Toshiba failed after 2 years in service. Not too bad as they replaced it free and in 1 hour. (I had to go pick it up, which was not a problem.)

    The current one has been running (brand unknown) for 4 months with no problem.

    The only problem I have had was squirrels eating my cable at the pole. That took 2 days for them to come out and replace the entire run.
     

  3. dport

    dport

    Messages:
    651
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2000
    Location:
    Landlocked
    I have a Motorola I bought from Cox over two years ago. Still going strong *knock wood*.

    When I moved the new cable company brought a newer slimline Motorola-this model was black, mine was white-the tech commented that he liked my model better. According to him the slim Motorola is a source of headaches, while my older model, which this cable company stopped carrying a while back, isn't known for problems.
     
  4. allanc

    allanc "Inconceivable"

    Messages:
    1,651
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 24, 2000
    Location:
    Deep in the Heart of Texas
    My first cable modem, a Motorola, started getting kind of flakey after 5 years. I had them replace it with a newer model Toshiba. It was a big improvement with speed. It is probably not a bad idea to tell the cable company your modem is getting flakey every couple of years and having them give you a new one.
     
  5. modgun

    modgun CLM

    Messages:
    245
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2003
    Location:
    Where you live
    I had an RCA cable modem for about 4 years before it broke.
    Like this one.

    [​IMG]

    It worked great but it did eventually break.
    I had to return it but somehow ended up with the power cord.
    You want it?
     
  6. Generalcarry

    Generalcarry NRA Member

    Messages:
    1,536
    Likes Received:
    20
    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2004
    Location:
    Michigan
    Along the same vein, I have Comcast as well and was going to start a new thread asking if it's wise to buy my own modem ~$70 or rent it from Comcast $3 a month. Allanc suggestion of having Comcast replace it every couple of years answered my question I do believe!
     
  7. Harlequin

    Harlequin I need a weapon

    Messages:
    455
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2003
    Location:
    East Central Indiana
    I had a 3Com "sharkfin" modem that was 5 years old when I switched to DSL. It worked fine the whole time and as far as I know still did.
     
  8. unixguy

    unixguy

    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2004
    Location:
    Oregon
    I just recently had my second RCA cablemodem die. They seem to last me about 2 years before they die.
     
  9. Soujurn

    Soujurn Deus Diligo USA

    Messages:
    3,204
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2001
    Location:
    Las Cruces, N.M.
    I've had mine for over a year now, used 24/7. Not a burp out of it. Sometimes you need to turn it off and then on again to reset it, but I've only had to do that a couple times after power failures.
     
  10. stooxie

    stooxie NRA Life Member

    Messages:
    1,069
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2005
    Location:
    Northern Virginia
    As most here have said, they are pretty hardy. One thing I do to protect mine is use a surge protector that has coax ports on it. I'm not much of a tinfoil hat kind of person, but this one I believe in. Power surges down cable lines are not uncommond and cable boxes can deal with it. I've lost two cable modems to what I believed are power surges. The one I have now has been just fine behind my surge protector. The db loss is minimal and my cable modem runs at 4mbit (I can
    download at 450kps).

    Cable modems rock.

    -Stooxie
     
  11. GammaDriver

    GammaDriver

    Messages:
    491
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2002
    Location:
    Florida
    Well, My mum had hers for many years without a problem... but...

    I, too, have Comcast, and I have the SB 5120 cable modem for almost one year. Here about 2 1/2 weeks ago I wasn't able to connect. They told me they were having problems. Fine (sorta - not really) - I was going on vacation in two days, so I unplugged everything to reset it for when I got back. Got back two days ago, still not working.

    I spent many hours with three tech support people from Comcast. THe last guy stated that while ti was very rare, the modem could fail without actually showing an error in the four or five LED lights on the modem, and that I ought to take it in.

    Sure enough, my modem was bad (I guess the storm that brought down the Goodyear blimp took my cable modem out - or it just went bad at the same time?).

    Edit add-on: Yes, by all means rent the modem from Comcast. Not only do you get replacements, but you will get nearly -no- tech support if you insist on using your own modem. :)