close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Dispatchers

Discussion in 'Cop Talk' started by Zim, Jan 24, 2010.

1. Zim

Zim

Do a lot of officers have trouble with dispatchers? In my country we have too few, and oficers sometimes take over for them on breaks. As a result they're highly apreciated. But I've hear other agencies complain a lot about them. i work as a control tech (basically a jail dispatcher) and part time as a reserve deputy...

My question is if dis[patchers are as bad elsewhere as I'd believe only on gossip in my area (and forums like this one). Our dispatchers are a wonder when I do reserve duty and am in a car by myself. I don't know patrol radio etiquette as well as jail radio etiquette and dispatchers have saved me (on the phone).

2. B Coyote

B Coyote

I'm a full time dispatcher and a Reserve (I got the dispatch job through my Reserve job).

To put it politely, there are good and bad on both sides of the radio.

bc

3. Marky Mark

Marky Mark Curmudgeon

My dept had all sworn officers dispatching for many years, and the result was that the people dispatching understood very well what was going on on the street, and patrol respected the dispatcher, since you usually knew them by name and had worked with them. The problem was that with manpower shortages in patrol, you had fully qualed officers sitting indoors, and some commanders used dispatch as a "dumping ground" for disciplinary problems or retribution. They later went to primarily non-sworn dispatchers, although officers may volunteer for it (injuries or school schedules).

4. Goldstar225

Goldstar225 NRA member