Discussion on Tip #1

Discussion in 'GSSF' started by Fireglock, Apr 3, 2003.

1. Fireglock

Fireglock Which is worse?

Well the first Tip from the Pros post has been up for several days, any thoughts or questions?

2. johnhurd

johnhurd Millennium Member

I Was looking for the magic bullet not practic practice practice....... :)

3. Fireglock

Now John, you know proper practice is how you find that magic bullet. :)

4. Don At PC

Don At PC Senior Member Millennium Member

How about a "Silver Bullet full of Prune Juice " for the old guy.;N ;N ;N ;N ;N The Devil made me say it. ;f ;f ;f ;f ;f

5. johnhurd

johnhurd Millennium Member

And all this time I thought it was spend, spend, spend and upgrade, upgrade, upgrade????

Has to be a better way, we have 32 deg and freezing rain today sorry but I am not going out to practice in that.

6. jay.shebuski

jay.shebuski

well,....I'm not a pro, but reviewing what the "fundamentals of marksmanship" are, or at least what I think they are :) :

grip
    stance
    trigger squeeze
    sight picture
    sight alignment
    follow through
    mind set

..my biggest improvements came after a fellow named Chris LeFort (Pacific NW shooter) coached me on,.. where to put my thumbs.

I point them essentially at the target, the firing hand thumb on top off the non-firing hand thumb, which rests along the frame. This improved my "grip", giving me a stable platform to squeeze the trigger, ballanced my stance, and allows the quickest recovery of the muzzle rise back onto the next target, and gives me a natural quick 1st shot on target.

Jay

7. Fireglock

Not good practice weather at all.

I have some opinions on where attitude and confidence fit into this puzzle. Anybody else feel these are important?

8. FotoTomas

FotoTomas Pure Polymer

After I did a little analysis on my scoring from the first few matches I learned the value of slowing down to get a faster score.