close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Detail stripped my 27 last night

Discussion in 'General Glocking' started by truetopath, May 16, 2012.

1. truetopath

truetopath

I was bored out of mind last night, while the wife was watching Glee, so I figured I'd go on an adventure and detail strip and clean my 27. First of all, I can believe how simple this gun is to strip down to bare bones. Secondly, I can't believe how much crud I had built up in the slide components and the frame. So after about an hour all the crud was gone the gun was lubed and reassembled, and I was a happy camper. I've been shooting the 27 regularly for about 8 months now and never realized how much crud could build up over that time. After reading the thread on how often people detail strip their glocks I figured I wouldn't find to much dirt in there, but there was a significant amount and I'm glad it's gone now. Just my experience.

2. kodiakpb

kodiakpb

I detail strip my slides everytime for cleaning after a range trip. I do not however detail strip the frame after every range trip. Not much crud builds up in the frame if you know where to wipe using a little bit of alcohol.

Detail stripping the slide will not wear anything out and it's a good way to ensure the FP channel is dry and clear and no carbon buildup around the extractor. I shoot cheap/dirty ammo all the time and since all my Glocks are carry weapons (depending on my mood), it's just good preventative maintenance.

3. Kyle M.

Kyle M.

I detail strip the slide on my G21 after every range trip. I detailed the frame once to install a trigger kit, and will probably do it again every 1000-1500rds.

4. scccdoc

scccdoc

Lots of fun and makes you feel better about your gun ! DOC

5. novasquid

novasquid