Decided it was time to go to college

Discussion in 'Business Forum' started by slimjim12, Nov 16, 2016.

1. slimjim12

slimjim12

How we doing guys, I recently applied for a grant and it turns out they will basically pay for me to go back to school. I more less did this out of wishful thinking, So now that its actually happening I need some advice. I cant decide if i want to go for business or hospitality. I work in a kitchen at a restaurant as a kitchen apprentice, i basically wash dishes and help cook and learn when im caught up on that. And I really like it, which is why im leaning toward hospitality. Any advice for me boys?

n2g and kaisooba like this.
  2. shotgunred

shotgunred local trouble maker

hospitality is long hours, hard work, low pay and doing it for someone else.
    Business on the other hand is much more universal and probably will net you better pay and working conditions.

kaisooba and duncan like this.

3. flyover

flyover

I thought you were going back for the booze and chicks.

kaisooba likes this.
  4. Big Texas One

Big Texas One

My son graduated near the top of his class at the Bill Harrah school of Hotel Admin, UNLV, along with 3,000 other. He had already been placed in a management job with the Four Seasons, and was on of about 15 called up on stage during the graduation ceremony for recognition. After the ceremony was over, I asked him what about the other 3,000 kids that graduated, what were they going to be doing, he replied, "they'll be night clerks in motels". At first I thought it was funny, but after a few years in the hospitality business, and seeing the pay scale and the lack of good paying jobs, I realised he wasn't being a smart ass, he was being realistic.

Go for business

kaisooba likes this.
  5. slimjim12

slimjim12

Well then. I might need to replan after reading theese

kaisooba likes this.
  6. duncan

duncan Lifetime Member Millennium Member