close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

DDR 266 memory, suports DDR 333 or DDR 400 memory?

Discussion in 'Tech Talk' started by perro loco, Feb 22, 2006.

  1. perro loco

    perro loco

    Messages:
    176
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2002
    Location:
    Venezuela
    Mi PC have a GIGABYTE (www.gigabyte.com.tw) motherboard, i can´t find DDR233 memorys here, only DDR333 or DDR400, this memorys are compatible with my MB?

    Is any bad thing on intal this memory on my PC

    Thanks for any advice

    PL
     
  2. perro loco

    perro loco

    Messages:
    176
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2002
    Location:
    Venezuela
    "Supports DDR 266/200 up to 2GB Memory
    Available with 2 DIMM slots supporting up to 2GB of DDR266/DDR200 memory, GA-8VM533 provides the highest performance platform with the highest bandwidth (2.1GB/s) mainstream DDR memory solution. "

    "BIOS 2M bit flash ROM

    Bundle Software Norton Internet Security
    Norton Anti-Virus™
    Norton™ Personal Firewall
    Norton™ Privacy Control
    Norton™ Parental Control
    Norton™ Spam Alert
    GIGABYTE Windows Utility Manager
    Adobe Acrobat Reader

    Chipset North bridge: VIA P4M266A
    South bridge: VIA VT8235(CE)
    VIA VT1616 Codec chip
    VIA VT6103 LAN chip

    Expansion Slots 1 x AGP 4X slot
    3 x PCI slots (PCI 2.2 compliant)

    Form Factor uATX
    24.4 x 21.0 cm

    Front Side Bus 533/400 MHz FSB

    H/W Monitoring System health status auto-detect and report by BIOS
    Hardware detecting and reporting for Case open and CPU and System fan speed

    Internal I/O Connectors 1 x USB2.0 connectors (2 ports by cable)
    2 x UDMA ATA 133/100/66 Bus Master IDE connector
    1 x FDD connector
    CD in connector
    20-pin ATX Power connector
    4-pin ATX 12V Power connector
    1 x COM port

    Memory Type: DDR266/DDR200
    Max capacity: 2GB
    DIMM slots:2

    Other Features Xpress3
    @BIOS
    Q-FlashTM

    Processor Socket 478 for Intel® Pentium® 4 processor

    Rear Panel I/O 1 x VGA port
    4 x USB 2.0 ports
    1 x RJ45 LAN port
    1 x LPT port
    3 x Audio ports (Line-in/Line-out/MIC)
    1 x COM port
    2 x PS/2 ports (Keyboard/Mouse) "
     

  3. colsankey

    colsankey

    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2005
    It takes dimms, so you should be OK. The newish boards will run ddr 333/400 at 266 and clock them down most of the time.

    If you cant find the 266, get some 333 and it should work. Just make sure they give you 7 days with receipt or what have you to return it to cover your butt.
     
  4. pyblood

    pyblood

    Messages:
    499
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2003
    Location:
    Mississippi
    I may be wrong, but I think that you can use PC3200 (DDR400) and it will clock itself down to PC2700 (DDR333) or PC2100 (DDR266) if it has to. If this is true, I would buy PC3200 RAM.
     
  5. perro loco

    perro loco

    Messages:
    176
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2002
    Location:
    Venezuela
    Tomorrow gonna buy a new memory!!! (DDR400)

    thanks a lot

    PL
     
  6. colsankey

    colsankey

    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2005
    pc3200(ddr400) and pc2700(ddr333) will both clock as I said.. however the 3200 might be more usefull in the future, the 2700 should be cheaper.

    In any case, they all *should* work, they key is making sure you can bring it back after testing, because computers just like to not work correctly sometimes, even when they should.
     
  7. RaiderRodney

    RaiderRodney Just Win Baby

    Messages:
    515
    Likes Received:
    25
    Joined:
    May 22, 2003
    Location:
    North Carolina
    If you know the motherboard model number check out www.crucial.com and it will give you every option of memory you can run. They also have some of the best memory out there and usually ship it via fedex for free. Good luck :)
     
  8. Bronson7

    Bronson7

    Messages:
    421
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 19, 2002
    Location:
    Murray,Kentucky
    +1
    Bronson7
     
  9. pyblood

    pyblood

    Messages:
    499
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2003
    Location:
    Mississippi
    PC3200 and PC2700 Ram are usually the same price. If the PC3200 RAM is more expensive, it’s only a dollar or 2.

    I recommend going to NewEgg and just finding a stick PC3200 RAM. How much are you thinking about adding?