close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Daylight Savings Time on Linux

Discussion in 'Tech Talk' started by David_G17, Mar 7, 2007.

  1. David_G17

    David_G17 /\/\/\/\/\/\/\/

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2002
    Messages:
    2,046
    Likes Received:
    0
    If you run this command:
    Code:
     zdump -v /etc/localtime | grep isdst=1 | grep 2007
    
    and you get this output:
    Code:
    /etc/localtime  Sun Mar 11 08:00:00 2007 UTC = Sun [b]Mar 11[/b] 03:00:00 2007 CDT
    isdst=1 gmtoff=-18000
    /etc/localtime  Sun Nov  4 06:59:59 2007 UTC = Sun [b]Nov  4 [/b]01:59:59 2007 CDT 
    isdst=1 gmtoff=-18000
    
    You are already set for the DST change (the output states that the changes will take place on March 11th and November 4th). If your installation isn't set to notice the new DST times, checkout http://www.linux-watch.com/news/NS6300294422.html
     
  2. Dandapani

    Dandapani

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2004
    Messages:
    8,216
    Likes Received:
    12
    Location:
    Gulf side Florida
    yorky@/home/dmobrien: zdump -v /etc/localtime | grep isdst=1 | grep 2007
    /etc/localtime Sun Mar 11 07:00:00 2007 UTC = Sun Mar 11 03:00:00 2007 EDT isdst=1 gmtoff=-14400
    /etc/localtime Sun Nov 4 05:59:59 2007 UTC = Sun Nov 4 01:59:59 2007 EDT isdst=1 gmtoff=-14400
     

  3. BilltheCat

    BilltheCat Quieter Cat Millennium Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 1999
    Messages:
    1,599
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sanford, Florida
    SOME FOLKS VIEW *NIX AS JUST SHY OF EGYPTIAN HIEROGLYPHICS!

    hah! Yes Unix and it's variants have been around a long time. but it is because it works!

    Would you trust this nations defense on Windoze? How about your Air traffic Control?

    Only *nix is robust and debugged enough and solid for the kind of life protecting duty we need to always work day in and day out.

    No BSOD. No mem overflows at 30 thousand feet. No "crash imminent- cancel or allow?"

    THAT is why I was drawn to OSX. It is built on BSD. The new version of OSX code named Leopard, is looking for unix certification itself. That is something Bill Gates as rich as he is can not have for Vista.
     
  4. David_G17

    David_G17 /\/\/\/\/\/\/\/

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2002
    Messages:
    2,046
    Likes Received:
    0

    ummm, they do use Windows:
    http://www.informationweek.com/news/showArticle.jhtml?articleID=197700789
    http://www.informationweek.com/news/showArticle.jhtml?articleID=197800480

    why would anyone pay for BSD?

    http://www.freebsd.org
    http://www.openbsd.org
    http://www.desktopbsd.net
     
  5. Dandapani

    Dandapani

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2004
    Messages:
    8,216
    Likes Received:
    12
    Location:
    Gulf side Florida
    BTW: I meant to thank you for this yesterday. I had a couple of old Linux production machines (RH8 and 9) and an NetBSD system at work that needed updating and this was the fastest way to do it.
     
  6. David_G17

    David_G17 /\/\/\/\/\/\/\/

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2002
    Messages:
    2,046
    Likes Received:
    0
    you're welcome - I happened to read about it on slashdot.org, and just passed the info along.