close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Data for 9mm/115gr RN FMJ/Hodgdon Universal?

Discussion in 'Reloading' started by modelflyer2003, Mar 31, 2010.

1. modelflyer2003

modelflyer2003

I am new to reloading. I have just about gathered all I need. I ordered 1000 115 gr. 9mm RN DS from Berry Manufacturing. The only powder I could find local to avoid the Hazmat fee (!) was Hodgdon Universal. The reloading manual I have is Lyman 49<SUP>th</SUP> Edition. On page 340-342 is 9mm loading information. On the Hodgdon data from the website there is no listing for 115 gr. RN except lead (assuming LRN means lead round nose). Would it be safe to use LRN for FMJ RN? Does anyone have a book that will tell me what the proper load min and max load and overall length are for a <?xml:namespace prefix = st1 ns = "urn:schemas-microsoft-com:eek:ffice:smarttags" /><st1:State w:st="on"><st1:place w:st="on">Berry</st1:place></st1:State> 115 gr RN FMJ with Hodgdon Unversal powder and CCI 500 small pistol primers?
    http://data.hodgdon.com/cartridge_load.asp

Last edited: Mar 31, 2010
  2. chemcmndr

chemcmndr

Funny I came across this post today. I just went out yesterday and test fired some handloads using Hodgdon Universal with Berry's 115 gr. FMJ.

From Lee's Modern Reloading, they suggest for a 115 gr. Jacketed Bullet, they recommend starting at 4.5 grains of Universal and never exceeding 5.0 grains.

In the photograph below, you can see my groupings at 7 yards. Rounds were fired from a Glock 17 using a bench rest position.

Test group on the left was:

Federal cases, 4.5 grains of Universal, CCI 500 primers, Berry's 115 gr. Plated Round Nose, OAL = 1.150"

Test groups on the right was:

Federal cases, 4.5 grains of Universal, Remington 5 1/2 primer, Berry's 115 gr. Plated Round Nose, OAL = 1.150"

Each shot group had 10 rounds.

Edited to add: Lee's book has a min OAL for 115gr. Jacketed bullet of 1.125"

3. Colorado4Wheel

Colorado4Wheel