close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Creatine?

Discussion in 'Strength & Conditioning' started by Glock19Fan, Mar 9, 2006.

1. Glock19Fan

Glock19Fan Cool Guy

Hey everyone!

While my maxes seem to be doing pretty well right now, I seem to be burning out before I am even done with a workout.

I hear that creatine can increase your energy, and help you workout longer to build even more muscle, but it sounds too good to be true.

Are there any negative side effects with taking this? Also what is everyones experience with it?

Thanks!

2. DocAmentler

DocAmentler Semper Fidelis!

The negatives that I found when using it several years ago were increased fluid retention, which would make sense in something called a "cell volumizer" and consequently slower run times in the PFT. I decided lean and mean was better when the 1st Sargeant was watching us.;f

3. BCR

BCR BIGASS!!!!

I'll give my 2 cents, but I am no expert.

Creatine draws water into the mucles and causes it to be retained. This is why Creatine makers can claim you may add 10 pounds to your weight in 2 weeks. It is actually true, but it isn't muscle you're gaining, it's water weight. While taking Creatine you want to drink a lot of extra water to avoid dehydration, as water will be drawn away from other organs.

Creatine doesn't really give you more endurance type energy for longer workouts, it gives your muscles more energy to lift more weight in short bursts, via boosting ATP levels in the muscle. Creatine is beneficial when looking for explosive type strength gains(as in weight lifting).

Creatine may help you, but I haven't read up on it lately and am not sure if there are any new breaking discoveries about it.

It does seem to be one of the better supplements that has real merit, with a strong following and it hasn't dropped off the market.