CPU Temp

Discussion in 'Tech Talk' started by Hauptmann6, Apr 28, 2005.

  1. Hauptmann6

    Hauptmann6

    Messages:
    4,441
    Likes Received:
    329
    Joined:
    May 22, 2002
    Location:
    Portage, MI
    What's normal for a Athlon 2800? mine is running around 82c. is that too warm?
     
  2. chevrofreak

    chevrofreak Senior Member

    Messages:
    2,696
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2001
    Location:
    Billings, Montana
    82C is waaaaaay wayyyyyyyyyyy too hot
     

  3. Blinocac200sx

    Blinocac200sx

    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2003
    Location:
    Oklahoma
    Seriously, thats hot enough to cook meat.
     
  4. AZ-Boog

    AZ-Boog

    Messages:
    531
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2002
    Location:
    Chandler, Arizona
    That's almost 180 F.!!

    and the cpu is still running??
     
  5. chevrofreak

    chevrofreak Senior Member

    Messages:
    2,696
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2001
    Location:
    Billings, Montana
    BTW my overclocked 2600+ is sitting at 41C right now. It does help that my case has a huge hole in the side, but still 82 is entirely too high. You need a new heatsink, preferably copper, a big fan and some Arctic Silver 5 thermal paste.
     
  6. Hauptmann6

    Hauptmann6

    Messages:
    4,441
    Likes Received:
    329
    Joined:
    May 22, 2002
    Location:
    Portage, MI
    yeah going to grab some in the mornin...
     
  7. blake711

    blake711 Pro-Fesh-U-Nawl

    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2005
    How long have you had it? I suggest first thing you do is open the case get some compressed air and clean the heatsink that the fan sits on. I had that happen on the first athlon I ever had a 2000+ the temp would case my mb to alarm do to overheating took me a couple days to figure it out.. I cleaned the giant farm of dust from my heatsink 30c drop imideiatly. The only benefit of replacing a fan and heatsink is for better cooling only needed for overclocking and lots still don't beat a stock amd or intell cooler. Or to get a quiter model is what I do normally. Check that out and I bet you are good to go if you haevn't cleaned the pc in over a year..
     
  8. AZ-Boog

    AZ-Boog

    Messages:
    531
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2002
    Location:
    Chandler, Arizona
    Get some Arctic Silver 5 (or 3 if you can't find 5).

    remove the heatsink/fan unit from the cpu.

    Blow out your case. Make sure you have good case ventilation. 3 intake and 3 exhaust. Clean your heatsink. Make sure the fin area is clean and free of any debris. Clean the bottom of any old thermal compound. If there is a thermal pad there remove it and any and all traces of it. The bottom of the heatsink has to be totally clean. Clean off the top of the cpu. Apply the Arctic Silver thermal compound according to manufacturers directions. Re-seat the heatsink/fan unit on the cpu makeing absolutely sure that it has good contact with the cpu. Fire it up and see what you get
     
  9. Hauptmann6

    Hauptmann6

    Messages:
    4,441
    Likes Received:
    329
    Joined:
    May 22, 2002
    Location:
    Portage, MI
    I had just dropped in a new cpu(to me) is why I was asking. The old heat sync was very clean. But just not big enough. New one has gotten it down to 55. With AS paste..
     
  10. blake711

    blake711 Pro-Fesh-U-Nawl

    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2005
    are you using the same heatsink? If so again make sure its clean of dust and then as stated above clean then cpu and heatsink and reapply the grease.. IT looks like you got in undercontrol now though..
     
  11. Furant

    Furant Millennium Member

    Messages:
    441
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 14, 1999
    Location:
    Roswell, GA
    I don't overclock, so it may be of no concern to me, but how do you monitor CPU temp? Just put a thermometer beside it? Or do they typically already have a thermometer on them?
     
  12. blake711

    blake711 Pro-Fesh-U-Nawl

    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2005
    All the newer ones are built in to the CPU socket itself. Some older ones had a little temp prob that you would slide into the side of the heatsink or on the chip somewhere.. How old is your pc? Normally you can view the temperature in your bios if you give details of the pc it will be easier to give you info on where to get the temp..
     
  13. Furant

    Furant Millennium Member

    Messages:
    441
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 14, 1999
    Location:
    Roswell, GA
    Well, I'd be interested in seeing it on my Dell Dimension 8200 which is a 2.00 GHz P4 and my laptop which is a Dell Precision M70 @ 2.2GHz Pentium M.

    Any insight's appreciated.

    Thanks,
    Joey
     
  14. chevrofreak

    chevrofreak Senior Member

    Messages:
    2,696
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2001
    Location:
    Billings, Montana
    Its usually a sensor on the motherboard right below the CPU socket.
     
  15. fastvfr

    fastvfr Ancient Tech

    Messages:
    2,344
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2001
    Location:
    SW Oregon
    You can reboot and enter the BIOS. Go to Hardware Monitor and that will tell you.

    I use Motherboard Monitor 5 and others use apps like Speedfan to monitor temps.

    I wouldn't be surprised if your CPU sustained severe damage from its roasting, guy. Start saving for a replacement, just in case.