close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

CPU help....running OS X on a PC

Discussion in 'Tech Talk' started by Asus, Aug 21, 2006.

1. Asus

Asus

With MAC going to Intel processors I was wondering if it is possible to load OS X on a PC. I build my own CPU's but an unfamiliar with macs other than when I see them at CompUSA or other retail stores. I would like to learn how macs "operate" and really give their superior video editing a whirl. I'm pretty sure it can be done; probably with a hack of some sort. Lemme know what ya'll know.---ASUS

2. aaronrkelly

aaronrkelly

Wow, I build computers for a living but even I buy my processors (or CPUs). Intel or AMD.....but never made them myself.

3. lendringser

lendringser Wheelgunner

You can't run Mac OS X on a PC, and even if you had somebody crafting you a hack to do it, it would be illegal. Apple has not licensed Mac OS X for any but their own hardware.

4. BOB THEDOG

BOB THEDOG Member me?

To me the only reason to do so would be for a hobby interest.

I don't have very good thoughts about Macs or Mac OS's.

Not a real world business OS.

With that being said, why are you wanting to make a Frankenstein PCOSX like this? Video editing on a properly configured PC can far exceed a typcial Mac.

5. ax157

ax157 Libertarian

I mean absolutely no offence by this whatsoever.

But I would have thought that if you were assembling your own computers you would know the most basic part names... and that Mac is not an acronym.

That said, yes it is "possible". But everyone I know that has done it have said that it was very unstable or had other problems.

Apple still wants you buying their very expensive computers to run it on. :supergrin:

If I were trying to do it, like someone else said I'd visit some Macintosh specific forums and google for "Mac OS X on PC" or something.

Sorry I don't have any better advice, good luck.

That's not true at all.