CPAP Users; Have you Experienced this?

Discussion in 'The Okie Corral' started by CarryTexas, Nov 19, 2019.

1. CarryTexas

CarryTexas

I have been using a CPAP for about 5-6 years now and up until about 8 months ago I have never had any issues.

What is happening is that during the night I am accumulating lots of gas. So much so that it is painful and I can't sleep. I have to get up and move around for 10-20 mins until the symptoms go away.

I can only sleep for 5-6 hours max before it becomes too painful and by the time I walk it off, I am awake, so I am limited to that amount of sleep each night. I have seen my sleep doctor and they were no help. They reduced my pressure by a small amount and that didn't do anything.

If I sleep without my CPAP this doesn't happen, so I know that it at least a factor. However, then I wake up from APNEA. :dunno:

Before I make another appointment I was hoping that someone may have experienced this and could offer some ideas that I could share with my doctor?

2. Walk Soft

Walk Soft

I was prescribed a CPAP about 9 months ago. I lost 40 pounds which put me in the normal BMI range so I did a second sleep study. Turns out I still needed one. I didn’t have the “best sleep ever” experience when I started using it. Still don’t. I was sleeping good after having lost the weight. No I haven’t experienced issues with gas..

cbetts1 likes this.

3. glock_collector

glock_collector

Bonus: the wifey smells 'em and I don't......Never had your issues. I sleep 5-6 hrs like the dead..miss it when I go camping.

BOOSTED12A likes this.
  4. powernoodle

powernoodle

"Aerophagia occurs when air from a CPAP enters the esophagus and goes into the belly, rather than the airway and into the lungs. This can cause gas pains and distension of the stomach. It is common and can happen to anyone who uses CPAP. But when it becomes chronic, it’s a red flag, a symptom that can be overcome when the cause is properly determined."