close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Coyote hunters--questions..

Discussion in 'Hunting, Fishing & Camping' started by Dogbite, Sep 6, 2004.

1. Dogbite

Dogbite DNT TREAD ON ME

I read somewhere that if you are hunting coyotes when the wind is over about 10 mph,you are wasting your time.Have you guys found this to be true? I am new to coyote hunting,so i may have some more questions later.Thanks for all your info!!

2. 2240

Not necessarily wasting your time but the odds decrease dramatically. You've got a couple of things going against you. #1, the sounds travel a lot less because you should be calling into the wind. #2, dogs will almost always circle down wind and scent you further out with a good breeze. The ideal set up would be a high vantage point so you can see them way out there before they start circling or position yourself in a steep sided canyon or wash so that the dog would have a hard time climbing up and circling. The sound also carry further down the canyon. Sometimes the weather never cooperates on the day that you can go hunting. Nevertheless, any days afield is better than none. Good luck.

3. muddydog

muddydog

what he said....;z

remember to make your shot count..
    because you'll probably only get shot. coyotes are very smart and have a great memory.

4. lomfs24

lomfs24

The last one I saw forgot to duck when he saw the AR-15 come out. ;f

5. MARTIN FISHER

MARTIN FISHER

Coyote hunting is always good a time, even if you don't see a coyote. BTW, I called one in on last weekend, it is still too early around here, as it was very small.

6. sharpshooter

sharpshooter Member Millennium Member