close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Copy Firefox Favorites to new PC

Discussion in 'Tech Talk' started by wrenrj1, May 9, 2010.

  1. wrenrj1

    wrenrj1

    Joined:
    May 22, 2002
    Messages:
    7,182
    Likes Received:
    382
    Location:
    Huskerville
    I'm transitioning to a new Mac actually, however in doing this slow I need to transfer my FF favorites from my dying PC to a laptop until I have my iMac ready. All I've seen is how to transfer IE favorites to FF. Any help would be appreciated! Thanks.
     
  2. evilspringer

    evilspringer

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    Messages:
    497
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Chillicothe Ohio
    go to bookmarks, click organize bookmarks, click import and backup then click backup. You can choose where to save and the name of the file. Then when you set up FF in Mac, go to organize bookmarks and go to restore then choose file.
     

  3. TBO

    TBO Why so serious? CLM

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2002
    Messages:
    51,663
    Likes Received:
    31,129
    Location:
    1504 South 7th Street, Minneapolis, MN 55454
  4. TXVoyager

    TXVoyager

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2009
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    TX
    +1 for XMarks. I have it set up on all my PC's so I always have my favorites available. Can even sync with IE if needed.
     
  5. JimmyN

    JimmyN

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2006
    Messages:
    1,266
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Virginia
    If you want to copy them to/from a different browser you'll need to use the import/export as different browsers use different formats. If you're copying from FF to FF on another PC it's quicker and easier to just copy the 'bookmarks.html' file to the new PC, rather than using import/export on each system. And save a copy as a backup while you're at it.

    Copy the 'bookmarks.html' file to the new PC and overwrite the default it created on install, if all you want is the bookmarks. FF stores it's bookmarks in a standard html file, and if you double click on that file you can actually view your bookmarks as a web page. Mozilla made it really easy to copy your bookmarks from one system to another.

    You can also copy 'signons3.txt' and 'key3.db' to the new PC if you want to copy over your saved usernames/passwords, if you don't use a master password in FF. If you use a master password things get a bit more complicated.

    I usually just copy the whole /Mozilla/ folder from the users /Application Data/ folder to a second, or new, PC. I think on the Mac the profiles are stored in /...Library/Application Support/. That way I also transfer all the saved usernames/passwords, form filling info, toolbar customizations, etc. as well as the bookmarks (favorites) to the new system.

    Actually I now keep my FF profile on a NAS, which also backs up the profile each night. That way I can run FF on any of the 3 Windows desktops, or my FreeBSD system and they all use the same profile from the NAS.
     
  6. kurt1305

    kurt1305

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    388
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Texas
    Open the "Organize Bookmarks" Click on the drop down menu that looks like a star. Click "Export HTML"
     
  7. captainstormy

    captainstormy

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2007
    Messages:
    5,143
    Likes Received:
    638
    Location:
    Columbus, Ohio
    I use Xmarks. It makes it quick and simple to have the same set of bookmarks on several different computers and even on several different browsers.
     
  8. Goldendog Redux

    Goldendog Redux Shut your mouth

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2003
    Messages:
    5,242
    Likes Received:
    94
    Location:
    Nevada
    While we are on the topic of FF and at the risk of a highjack...My FF on both computers is acting like crap recently-wont open certain windows/links, won't complete checkout for online purchases, youtube is all jacked up etc. I am using Chrome right now.

    I made no changes to my computer. Java may have updated recently. I have un-re-installed several times.

    Any ideas?

    Thx,

    MF