close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Copper Fouling

Discussion in 'GSSF' started by lomfs24, Jan 8, 2010.

1. lomfs24

lomfs24

OK so I have a Savage .308 tactical rifle and it has been shooting like a dream or as close to a dream as can be expected for an out-of-the-box rifle. Sub MOA accuracy, reliably on steel at over 1100 yrds...etc... Well I have a fair amount of shooting done with it and I decided to give it a good cleaning. I always clean it but yesterday I decided to get some Barnes CR-10 copper fouling remover. I spent a fair amount of time getting all the copper out. Then I took it out to the range today and it shot like crap for the first four or five rounds. I understand the importance of cleaning but maybe someone could answer why I should spend all that time taking all the copper out of the barrel only to have to shoot four or five rounds to get the layer of copper back in to shoot good.

2. crazymoose

crazymoose Nonentity

I'm no expert on this subject, but hazarding a guess, I would say that a little bit of copper probably actually helps by smoothing over any defects in the barrel steel.

3. Steve in PA

Steve in PA

Exactly. Do NOT go crazy over copper fouling. I just clean all my firearms normally. I went the route of trying to get rid of all the copper fouling out of my Winchester Model 70 .30/06 on time, and wound up with the same results you did.

My rifle has always shot 1moa, and after the cleaning the groups opened up. After some build up, the rifle came back to where it was before. Now, I do not concern myself with copper fouling at all.

4. moeman

moeman

So...The lesson is leave good enough alone when the gun groups tight?

Did you use something like rem oil in the barrel after you got the copper killer out?

5. lomfs24

lomfs24