Convert G27 to G26

Discussion in 'General Glocking' started by RangeRover, Feb 18, 2010.

1. RangeRover

RangeRover

I am new here so I'm sorry if this is in the wrong forum. I tried a search and found some information but not everything I was looking for.

I have a G27 and want to turn it into a G26 for the girlfriend. I already have a Lonewolf 40-9 conversion barrel and 9mm magazines. I have read here where people have said I'd need a new ejector and new extractor. When I went in to have it done the gunsmith said that because the breech face of the .40 is bigger in the 27 than the 26, he still would not recommend it. I'm new to this so I thought I'd ask the "experts" here to get a final answer. I don't have enough money to buy a new 26 and don't want to lose any more than I have to making this swap so I don't want to sell the 27 and buy a 26. I have about 600 rounds of 9mm through the gun so far with no problems with no alterations. I want to make this "carry ready" for the GF. What do I need to do to my 27 to make that happen. Thanks

2. american lockpicker

american lockpicker License to Il

3. HK Dan

HK Dan

Range,

This has been addressed time and time again on here. No, you don't need those parts. With an upper-middle range load, the gun will function fine.

Secondarily, I wouldn't use a converted gun for self defense. Depending on the attitude of the prosecutor, you may be entangling yourself in another fight that you don't need to have, should the gun be used in a deadly force incident.

I use my conversions for low cost practice, but swap back to the factory barrel for self-defense.

4. bikerpipes

bikerpipes

All I did was drop in the barrel and a 26 mag and shoot when my wife goes to the range with me. I swap barrels in my 27 to 9mm and let her shoot it also.

5. 3rdgen40

3rdgen40 .45 fanatic

Buy a complete 26 upper.

6. GIockGuy24

GIockGuy24 Bring M&M's