close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Congressman: Walmart is the largest recipient of public aid in the country

Discussion in 'The Okie Corral' started by IndianaMatt, Nov 27, 2012.

1. IndianaMatt

IndianaMatt

Last edited: Nov 27, 2012
  2. nmk

nmk

As a graduate student I make a few bucks more than an ENTRY level Walmart associate. I live pretty well. Now that I know I live in poverty, I'm sad. Thanks a bunch.

3. IndianaMatt

IndianaMatt

What you're saying doesn't make any sense. If you make more than the poverty level, then you do not live at the poverty level.

I'm guessing you didn't obtain a degree in math.

4. Fred Hansen

Fred Hansen Liberal Bane

I take it you found your dog?

5. badge315

badge315

The title of this thread is an abject lie; Wal-Mart receives no public aid. Perhaps some of their employees do, but one of my kids works at a Wal-Mart distribution center and he makes a decent living. Guess I better go tell him how evil his employer is. :upeyes:

6. nmk

nmk

You're cute.

So which ones live in poverty? How much do they make? Why can't they make ends meet?

7. fnfalman

fnfalman Chicks Dig It

Don't the states and the Feds determine minimum wages? Wages at which they deem is liveable off?

As far as benefits go, do all employers offer benefits?

Duh!!! Maybe Wally World and other employers be in LOSS bussiness?

8. nmk

nmk

What EXACTLY are poverty level wages?

ETA: I just looked it up. I'll let you break the news to everyone.

9. Adjuster

Adjuster

Should a WalMart associate make $50,000.00 a year with full benefits? No they should make minimum wage with zero benefits. WalMart bashers are a joke, well at least in the context of this bashing.

/

10. Detectorist

Detectorist

1 and 2 are false. Walmart did not start out by selling Chinese goods. Many Walmart employees receive various types of benefits.

I don't know why folks hate Walmart so much.

11. fnfalman

fnfalman Chicks Dig It