Computers - one topic (F22 fighters) and one question

Discussion in 'Tech Talk' started by engineer151515, Feb 25, 2007.

  1. engineer151515

    engineer151515

    Messages:
    14,461
    Likes Received:
    797
    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2003
    Topic:
    CNN reported that a squadron of 8 new F22 Raptors going on deployment to Japan from Hawaii approched the international date line and all onboard computers DUMPED! Communications, Fuel management, Weapons, everything.... gone. Airbone "reboots" failed.

    They had to return to Hawaii with the guidance of their accompanying fuel tankers. Could have been serious but those are just the kind of bugs you need to work out with new aircraft. A "Tiger team" of experts found the error in the comptuer code and had the Raptors on their way in 48 hours.

    Now the question:
    I bought a new 19" flat panel monitor. Works fine on a newer laptop but on my older laptop I have a problem. Program windows display fine, but if I try to run a movie from the DVD player, the window for the movie itself (which appears fine on the laptop) appears as a blank square on the flatscreen. The "older" laptop is a Compaq Presairo 2100. Is there a display configuration I can change to help or will a fix involve perhaps a new graphics card for the old laptop? The laptop display resolution is set to 1024 by 768 pixels.

    Image of what appears on the flat screen monitor is shown below. The blank square on the flat monitor is filled with a movie sceen on the laptop. The exact same problem occurs with three different DVDplayer programs.



    [​IMG]
     
  2. Toyman

    Toyman

    Messages:
    2,600
    Likes Received:
    37
    Joined:
    May 6, 2003
    Location:
    West Michigan
    "Your aircraft is attempting to crash into the sea, Confirm or Deny?"

    Oh shi...
     

  3. Toyman

    Toyman

    Messages:
    2,600
    Likes Received:
    37
    Joined:
    May 6, 2003
    Location:
    West Michigan
    Actually, it wasn't all the computers, it's fly by wire.
     
  4. engineer151515

    engineer151515

    Messages:
    14,461
    Likes Received:
    797
    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2003
    That's true


    I can't find a write-up giving more details
     
  5. engineer151515

    engineer151515

    Messages:
    14,461
    Likes Received:
    797
    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2003
    :laughabove:


    Yet another definition for the "Blue Screen of Death"
     
  6. David_G17

    David_G17 /\/\/\/\/\/\/\/

    Messages:
    2,046
    Likes Received:
    8
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2002
  7. engineer151515

    engineer151515

    Messages:
    14,461
    Likes Received:
    797
    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2003
    So technology wizards,

    Why does my old laptop display show the movie but the attached flat screen monitor simultaneously show a blank square?
     
  8. Toyman

    Toyman

    Messages:
    2,600
    Likes Received:
    37
    Joined:
    May 6, 2003
    Location:
    West Michigan
    Try going to your options and turn off overlays. Options->Performance Tab-> Advanced.
     
  9. Deanster

    Deanster Cheese? CLM Millennium Member

    Messages:
    8,996
    Likes Received:
    5,496
    Joined:
    Feb 24, 1999
    You just need to change your settings so that you're only sending the image to the external screen. Usually hitting the 'function' key and then f7 will cycle through the laptop's screen, Mirroring, and External Screen only.

    Your video card doesn't have enough juice to keep track of moving images on both screens at once, so it's not even trying.

    Common problem with older laptops. Newer cards can keep track of moving images both places.
     
  10. engineer151515

    engineer151515

    Messages:
    14,461
    Likes Received:
    797
    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2003
    Thank you very much.

    I'll give that a try. Edit: worked perfectly!


    Or - was that advise for the F22 pilots?

    :supergrin:
     
  11. Darkmage

    Darkmage

    Messages:
    397
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2001
    Location:
    Purgatory, Virginia
    Which part? Turning off overlay, or directing all output to the screen?
     
  12. engineer151515

    engineer151515

    Messages:
    14,461
    Likes Received:
    797
    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2003
    Using the function key to toggle output entirely to the external flat screen monitor.