Computer Guru's Please help!

Discussion in 'Tech Talk' started by bobcleanG17, Sep 11, 2007.

  1. bobcleanG17

    bobcleanG17

    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2005
    Location:
    Northeast Florida
    I had Windows XP pro on my home PC and had to buy another OS so i bought XP Home because it was cheaper. Well little did i know that XP home would not read my dynamic second harddrive. I have to convert the drive to a basic drive but it will format the drive in the process. So here is my question... Is there any way to get XP Home to read a dynamic harddrive. Otherwise i either have to spend another $200 on the XP pro upgrade or find someone with XP pro that i could put my harddrive in their computer and get my files off before formatting.
     
  2. 686Owner

    686Owner NRA Life Member

    Messages:
    14,004
    Likes Received:
    2,967
    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2007
    Location:
    KY
    Why did you have to buy another OS if you already had XP Pro?
     

  3. 686Owner

    686Owner NRA Life Member

    Messages:
    14,004
    Likes Received:
    2,967
    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2007
    Location:
    KY
  4. HerrGlock

    HerrGlock Scouts Out CLM

    Messages:
    23,810
    Likes Received:
    287
    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2000
    I don't know how savvy you are, but you could download a Linux boot disk and use a thumb drive. Boot the boot disk, let it mount the drives and move all your files onto the thumb drives.
     
  5. Dragoon44

    Dragoon44 Unfair Facist Lifetime Member

    Messages:
    21,254
    Likes Received:
    8,925
    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2005
    If yuo have an XP disk you can use it to build a BartPE disk boot from it and then transfer the files to a usb connected drive or burn the files to a disk if the computer has a burner in it.

    http://www.nu2.nu/pebuilder/
     
  6. bobcleanG17

    bobcleanG17

    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2005
    Location:
    Northeast Florida
    would i be able to transfer the files to another internal drive this way or just to a usb drive? my usb drive is only 1 gig and there is more than 1 gig on the drive.
     
  7. HerrGlock

    HerrGlock Scouts Out CLM

    Messages:
    23,810
    Likes Received:
    287
    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2000
    You could put them onto any drive in the system and/or upload them onto any server you have access to.
     
  8. Cdr. Instigator

    Cdr. Instigator RC Foamie Flyer

    Messages:
    238
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2007
    Location:
    Houston, Texas
    Ok, so let me get this straight..

    You bought another Operating system XP Home.. and your old Op was XP Pro... Now your internal hard drive isn't recognised because it's set up to pro not Home..

    How many internal hard drives does your PC have... 2..

    ------------------------------------------

    What I would do is buy another Hard drive...a small one like 60 gigs.. They are cheap !!!

    Install HP Home on it and set the old one as a slave...

    You should be able to save files to it but not run your OP from it..
     
  9. bobcleanG17

    bobcleanG17

    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2005
    Location:
    Northeast Florida
    Yes and Yes. my primary hard drive (120gb) is working fine with xp home installed on it (i formatted it before installation). but xp home will not read the second drive (200gb) which is formatted differently. adding a third hd wouldn't help. but thanks anyways.
     
  10. bobcleanG17

    bobcleanG17

    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2005
    Location:
    Northeast Florida
    BartPE did it. wasn't too difficult to figure and did exactly what i needed to do. thanks!
     
  11. Blitzer

    Blitzer Cool Cat

    Messages:
    12,111
    Likes Received:
    3
    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2004
    Location:
    The communist's play ground of OHIO
    How is it you "had" to buy another OS? Was the old OS a pirated copy of Windows XP Pro?

    If the drive was formatted in NTFS under XP Pro then XP home would NOT be able to read it. Windows XP home was more like Windows 2000 with tweaks but lacking the security features like NTFS hard drive formating.

    http://www.microsoft.com/windowsxp/home/howtobuy/choosing2.mspx


    Look at these items:
    http://www.filedudes.com/FileRescue_for_NTFS-download-15107.html
    http://www.filedudes.com/Smart_NTFS_Recovery-download-38666.html

    If the second drive had device driver loaded, like Drive Manager's boot software, it may not be readable even with XP Pro. One would need to get the brand of drive manager software used to setup the PC.
     
  12. Patrick Graham

    Patrick Graham Footlong Jr.

    Messages:
    1,953
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2001
    Location:
    Kokomo Indiana
    +1

    PE has saved my butt may times..

    I keep a copy of UBCD4WIN handy just in case...
     
  13. ArmaGlock

    ArmaGlock Glock Armorer

    Messages:
    387
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2005
    Location:
    Florida
    Hey I know this is irrelevant and I'm doing you no good asking this question, like the other 3 dorks that have already asked, BUT....Why did you have to get a new OS, if you already had XP Pro? Is it like any of my dang business or should I just answer your question if I know how or just shut up and move along in the forum????