close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Completely Wireless?

Discussion in 'Tech Talk' started by Nowhere Man, Feb 10, 2005.

  1. Nowhere Man

    Nowhere Man

    Messages:
    980
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 22, 2003
    Location:
    North Port, FL
    Right now I use broadband cable into an RCA modem which goes to a Linksys wireless router. The router then connects to my desktop. My house also has two laptops that are wireless.

    Is it necessary to keep my desktop (or any computer for that matter)plugged in to the router to make the whole thing work?

    I would like to move my desktop to an area of the house that would be almost impossible to run cable wires to. Right now, my desktop does not need to be turned on for the laptops to work.


    My son says I would have modem troubles not having a computer plugged into it.

    Will it work?


    Thanks, Dave
     
  2. Jtemple

    Jtemple Geek

    Messages:
    788
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2002
    Location:
    NE
    None of the PCs on my network are connected via wires.

    The only things plugged into my wireless router with cables are my TiVO and my cable modem.
     

  3. podwich

    podwich

    Messages:
    4,617
    Likes Received:
    278
    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2000
    Location:
    MI
    You should be fine. You could also get a wireless PCI card for your desktop so you can connect to the web on that computer.
     
  4. Nowhere Man

    Nowhere Man

    Messages:
    980
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 22, 2003
    Location:
    North Port, FL
    Thanks for the replies. Now I have to wait for the armoire to arrive.


    Dave
     
  5. fastvfr

    fastvfr Ancient Tech

    Messages:
    2,344
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2001
    Location:
    SW Oregon
    Very simply, you just use a browser to navigate to the router's IP addy, then configure it via the WLAN.

    Always works for me.