Glock Talk banner
1 - 20 of 80 Posts

· Registered
1,421 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm a long time owner of 1911's. (Gold Cup, Custom Gunshop 1911, Commander and a few plain old 1911's). I say this because I'm not a 1911 rookie. I've been owning and shooting 1911's for 35+ years and loving them. I've reloaded for them and have shot.45 ACP matches.

But . . . I'm stumped with a recently acquired pistol and I need some help/advice from the experts.

I acquired an almost NIB Colt Defender, Series 90 "Lightweight". Beautiful pistol, satin nickel, nice wood grips. It might be one of the prettiest guns I've ever owned. I'm almost sure the previous owner may have fired one magazine and then put it away. (When I got it had a box of rounds with 7 rounds missing.)

I use Wilson Custom Combat Magazines in it. It came with one and I bought 3 more (Officer size). I always though Wilson were the best but I'm starting to have my doubts.

I've made three trip to the range with the pistol and have had failure to feeds on multiple occasions.

I'm shooting factory 230 grain FMJ rounds. All different brands.

It seems like on the last round of the magazine (sometimes the second to last) the round almost "stovepipes" (I'm not talking about stovepipe ejecting), I'm talking about almost standing straight up off the top of the magazine and jamming the pistol.

The pistol's ramp is clean and smooth.

I had 3 other experienced shooters shoot the pistol. Each shooter had the same problem with the FTF on the last round.

I'm not limp wrist'ing it and I figure if it can't feed 230 grain FMJ's it is almost not worth having.

I've shot multiple JHP's out of it and I have the same problem with the last or second to last round.

The gun is fully stripped and clean after each shooting.

Anyone have any thoughts or suggestions?