close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Colorado to California POST help...

Discussion in 'Cop Talk' started by SkiCop, Feb 17, 2010.

1. SkiCop

SkiCop

California POST seems to be the most complicated POST system I have seen. I have 7 years experience as an Officer, Detective, Sergeant, and K9 Officer. It appears that I can waive having to go back to a basic academy.

Any of you experienced folks make the jump from Colorado to California? If so I would love any helpful hints that you might have. Thank you.

2. The-Fly

The-Fly The Bofh

Why is gods name would you move to the PRK ?

3. ugly8604

ugly8604

Let's face it, it doesn't get any better than the sunny beaches of Socal. You rednecks are just jealous.

4. SkiCop

SkiCop

Its for family issues. I am from there and know it too well. I love Colorado more than words can express but my family doesnt share that. I am looking for a PD on the beaches of SoCal where I grew up.

5. Cochese

Cochese Most mackinest CLM

I went from CA to CO.

All I can offer is a suggestion you change your screen name. Its being revoked!

6. SDforce

SDforce Desk Jockey

We had a Jefferson Co. Deputy lateral over here to my agency a year ago. He just did the CA POST 3 week transition course. Our agency sent him to it and even paid for room and board. It's just classroom stuff.

I'll get some more info for you. What agencies are you looking at? We're still hiring laterals. $5,000 signing bonus and vacation time based on years on.... but we're in the valley.

Since you're looking for beach cities in SoCal, Huntington Beach and Torrance PD are great agencies. I'm not sure if they're hiring though.

7. SkiCop

SkiCop