close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Coast Guard Reserves - Port Security?

Discussion in 'US Coast Guard Forum' started by RF7126, Oct 25, 2006.

1. RF7126

RF7126

Hi all,
    I'm in a transition period in my life trying to find a new direction, and the Coast Guard is looking like a great place to go. I'm a college student, and I was in Air Force ROTC (on contract, long story), but decided to leave as driving a desk wasn't what I wanted to do. This had been my focus for my entire life and after I went through a rough time readjusting I now feel like the whole world is open to me.

Anyway, I love security/law enforcement, and I enjoy boating. After seeing "The Guardian", I took another look at the Coast Guard and was very impressed with what I found. I was thrilled to find that the reserves allow specializing in Port Security and now I'm interested in seeing if that would work for me.

My question is: Would the Coast Guard reserves fit a college student schedule? Are deployments an issue, especially with Port Security? Is it truly a "one weekend a month, two weeks a year" type of job? There's an Air National Guard base very close to where I live but the Security Forces are always getting deployed, and anymore they're treated almost like infantry anyway. I currently live in Terre Haute, IN, and although relocation is not an option I'm willing to travel a couple of hours (maybe to Chicago?).

Does anyone have any suggestions? Are there Port Security jobs closer to west-central Indiana? I'm also open to search and rescue or armorer positions. I did some search and rescue for a few years and I miss that feeling that one gets when a call comes in.

Thanks,
    RF7126

2. MakeMineA10mm

MakeMineA10mm * * * * Lifetime Member Millennium Member

Hey, RF, sorry I didn't see this thread before.

There are two ways to work in PS in USCGR.