Cloning a Hard Drive

Discussion in 'Tech Talk' started by Tom34, Oct 2, 2007.

  1. Tom34

    Tom34 Obama Must Go!

    Messages:
    126
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2002
    Location:
    Washington City, Utah
    I've got a couple of computers at work with 40GB HD's. They have a couple of catalog applications on them that have eaten up all the free space. One of the applications is an older version that the vendor won't let me reinstall, because they want me to use the newer version, that I also have, but it sucks.

    So I want to clone the existing HD and install some larger drives.

    Any recommendations as far as software to use ?

    I have a couple of Western Digital HD's that I may use, they ususally come with some software tools, any use ?

    Things to watch out for ?
     
  2. srhoades

    srhoades

    Messages:
    2,818
    Likes Received:
    23
    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2000

  3. vanderson

    vanderson Guest

    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2007
  4. njl

    njl Crusty Member

    Messages:
    10,482
    Likes Received:
    3,283
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2000
    Location:
    :noitacoL
    Or you could boot up a ubuntu linux live CD and use dd. You should be able to install a larger second drive, dd the partitions from the first drive to the second one, and then use the remaining space on the larger drive for additional partitions.
     
  5. intheburbs

    intheburbs Appleseed SI CLM

    Messages:
    444
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2007
    Location:
    SE Michigan
    +1 Norton Ghost

    I use it for my scheduled backups using the clone feature, but you can also pick out individual directories to restore.

    I had a problem with Windows - it was hanging on the splash screen - instead of trying to troubleshoot, I just restored the Windows\system directory and I was good to go. Very handy.

    The CD is bootable, so it's real easy when you install a new hardrive.
     
  6. Blitzer

    Blitzer Cool Cat

    Messages:
    12,111
    Likes Received:
    3
    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2004
    Location:
    The communist's play ground of OHIO
    Ditto on Norton Ghost++++++:thumbsup: :supergrin: :)
     
  7. Tom34

    Tom34 Obama Must Go!

    Messages:
    126
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2002
    Location:
    Washington City, Utah
    Since I couldn't find my copy of Ghost, I used the Utility CD that came with a Seagate HD I had.

    Seemed to work. Booted right up. Just one small part of one program that isn't working yet. But other than that, all OK.

    Thanks for the input.