Cleaning a match grade rifle, corossive ammo, and cleaning.

Discussion in 'GSSF' started by alfred10, Jan 17, 2010.

1. alfred10

alfred10

How do you properly clean a match grade rifle?

What does corrosive ammo do that makes it crossive? How do you clean after firing this ammo?

2. Danny Reid

Danny Reid

Hi. It really depends on the type of rifle. I have no experience with ARs, but an M1A it is recommended that you don't completely disassemble it on a routine basis, especially if it's glass bedded.

I never used corossive rounds in mine at all. If you have used corossive rounds in your rifle, you just about have to do a complete disassembly and you'll need to soak the barrel.

3. Brass Nazi

Brass Nazi NO BRASS FOR U!

Corrosive ammunition contains a primer that blasts salts into the barrel and action. If these salts are left there they will absorb moisture from the air and create an ideal situation for rust to form.

Proper cleaning technique is proper cleaning technique, whether you are cleaning a fine target rifle or a Mosin.

4. raven11

raven11

[​IMG]
    [​IMG]

a tad more work than your paintball gun , alfred

5. E-2-E

E-2-E Long Trail

6. Jason D

Jason D INFRINGED Silver Member Millennium Member

If you shoot corrosive ammo. You really need to scrub the bore with soapy water to get rid of the corrosive salts.

7. G26S239

G26S239 NRA Patron

Get a bucket and a funnel and boil water in a teapot and pour boiling water through the barrel several times to remove the corrosive salts then spray with electrical contact cleaner to remove the rest of the water and then use Hoppes.

8. my762buzz

my762buzz

How? The main thing is to avoid any damage to the chamber, bore, or most importantly the muzzle crown. Use an Otis cable cleaning kit. Clean by pulling the brush from the chamber to the muzzle.