Church carry... Who, what, when and where?

Discussion in 'Carry Issues' started by Opie 1 Kenopie, Feb 17, 2013.

1. Opie 1 Kenopie

Opie 1 Kenopie Regular Guy

So I'm getting dressed this morning to (grudgingly) accompany my wife and kids to church and I got to thinking about Sunday morning carry options. Who carries? What do you carry? What is your situation once you get there?

I've been carrying in church and everywhere else for 15+ years. My wife used to raise an eyebrow at my carrying in church but now she thinks its normal and even asks if I have it on me as we leave.

I'm an Active Shooter Response instructor for my agency and in my classes it often comes up that quite a few AS incidents recently have been directed toward religious places or groups. And what better soft target than a building crammed full of unarmed people who believe something different than you? It'd be like shooting fish in a barrel. I always close my classes with the recommendation that my guys find something they can carry off duty and carry it ALWAYS. Church included.

So let me hear about your setups. Do you sit in the back? (I do)
    Do you leave your EDC pistol in the car to please the wife? Do you downsize to a smaller CCW pistol for the morning then go back to your regular rig the rest of the week? FWIW I sat through church this morning with a G23 on my belt under a jacket, backed up by two 15 round mags on my weak side. Along with a loaded cellphone I was as prepared as I could've been to help protect this group from a shooter. Your thoughts?

2. Citadel15L

Citadel15L

What the hell is a "loaded" cell phone?

3. GreenDrake

GreenDrake Rip Lips

I don't go to church but if I did, I would carry there for sure. I will carry wherever I can and my wife knows there is not a compromise based on anyone's opinion of what I do in this case. I just tell her she's lucky to have an armed security detachment all to herself.

4. SCmasterblaster