close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Chronographs: School Me!

Discussion in 'Reloading' started by SinCityGlocker, Feb 22, 2010.

1. SinCityGlocker

SinCityGlocker

I want to buy a chronograph. I have been reloading for about two years and I want to see what my loads are actually doing. I have been reloading .45 and 10mm. I am very happy with my .45 loads, but I want to know how my 10mm is in comparison to factory loads, etc. A gun shop owner friend of mine told me great stories of Oehler, but a search of their website leads me to believe they have ceased operations. I want a chrono that is accurate and has expandability to bring data into a PC. A printer is unimportant to me. I would be more interested in a usb output or something of the like.

That's it. Tell me what I need to know to buy a good chrony. I want to buy one in my life so it needs to be a durable, quality piece. Thanks in advance.

2. Colorado4Wheel

Colorado4Wheel

CED is the best from a accuracy point of view. It's the Oehler now that Oehler is gone.

3. jeffreybehr

jeffreybehr

I think that about any chrono available today is accurate and reliable. I have a Shooting Chrony without memory and with remote display (in the green-metal case). I think it's this... http://www.midwayusa.com/viewproduct/?productnumber=688064 ...one.

It shows velocities about 95% of the time I shoot thru it, which is as good as both of my very fine Oehler 35Ps did. If you can find one of those for a reasonable price, and that may be as much as $500 by now, it MAY be a wise investment. But I'm just a hobbiest, so $100 chronos are just fine for me.

Here's my first and most-important recommendation after you buy one--put an extra 9V. battery in your shooting or chrono bag. I know that if I don't carry an extra, the battery now in the chrono will die; if I do bring an extra, that battery will NOT die. Here's my second--aim carefully. I haven't 3 times and have had to buy new shade rods.