close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Chronograph recommendation? Is there one compatible with an iPad or iPhone?

Discussion in 'Reloading' started by CDR_Glock, Apr 18, 2014.

  1. CDR_Glock

    CDR_Glock

    Messages:
    2,015
    Likes Received:
    483
    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2010
    Location:
    Virginia
    Is there a chronograph that feeds into an iPhone or iPad that allows one to match up load data with chronograph measurements?
     
  2. dla

    dla

    Messages:
    411
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Location:
    Hillsboro, Oregon
    I'll write the code for the app if you get the bluetooth interface into the chronograph. This is an obvious improvement that has been missing for years now.
     

  3. trlcavscout

    trlcavscout

    Messages:
    1,618
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2008
    Location:
    Northern Colorado
    I have been using a friends "master chrony" beta model, its very finicky about distance depending on speed.

    I have been debating on buying one but like you suggest it would be nice if one would import to a spreadsheet at the least, an app would be great.
     
  4. fx77

    fx77 CLM

    Messages:
    3,345
    Likes Received:
    1,256
    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2008
  5. Boxerglocker

    Boxerglocker Jacks #1 Fan

    Messages:
    6,208
    Likes Received:
    51
    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2003
    Location:
    Lynnwood, WA
  6. dakrat

    dakrat

    Messages:
    2,677
    Likes Received:
    8
    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    Location:
    worldwide, on time, on target
  7. WeeWilly

    WeeWilly

    Messages:
    7,581
    Likes Received:
    5,151
    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2011
    Location:
    Idaho
    I was thinking the same thing, deal of the century.

    I also use a ProChrono Digital and it works flawlessly.

    Frankly looking at the Caldwell unit, I would put money on it being made my the CE ProChorno people. If so, it will likely be a really reliable unit.

    I am wondering if I use an audio cable and download the Caldwell App, maybe I can use my iPhone with my current Prochrono Digital. If it is an OEM deal, I would be surprised if they wrote special code just for the Caldwell unit. hmmm, where is that soldering iron...
     
    Last edited: Apr 19, 2014
  8. F106 Fan

    F106 Fan

    Messages:
    8,203
    Likes Received:
    366
    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2011
    For rifle...

    I have the Magnetospeed chrono plus a CED M2 which connects to a PC via USB and imports to a spreadsheet. Pretty nice chrono for both pistol and rifle.

    So, why buy the Magnetospeed? It is easier to set up. Any time you have to deal with sky screens, setup is a hassle. You have to place the unit down range, far enough away that muzzle blast isn't a factor. It is better if it is aligned perfectly with a target for aiming. Doing all of this on a public and busy range is just a PITA.

    My interest, at the moment, is rifle so the Magnetospeed overcomes all of the setup issues. The Magnetospeed produces a CSV file on a microSD which can be imported to a spreadsheet. I haven't tried it.

    The Caldwell setup may be the way to go for iPhones.

    Richard
     
  9. Boxerglocker

    Boxerglocker Jacks #1 Fan

    Messages:
    6,208
    Likes Received:
    51
    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2003
    Location:
    Lynnwood, WA
    Doesn't work, already inquired with CE about it. They are coming out with their own software this year. In the meantime I downloaded their software for FREE and built my own patch cable for about $12-15. Works flawlessly and though a smaller iPhone or iPad would be more transportable have a laptop right there makes it easier to just import the data directly to Excel.
    [ame]http://youtu.be/XtzZKBB-WWA[/ame]
     
  10. WeeWilly

    WeeWilly

    Messages:
    7,581
    Likes Received:
    5,151
    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2011
    Location:
    Idaho
    Too good to be true.. just my luck.

    I don't even own a laptop anymore. When my last Dell bit the dust, it was over and out for me and laptops.
     
    Last edited: Apr 19, 2014
  11. Boxerglocker

    Boxerglocker Jacks #1 Fan

    Messages:
    6,208
    Likes Received:
    51
    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2003
    Location:
    Lynnwood, WA
    I have had that Windows 7 laptop for 5 years. All I use it for is my shooting and reloading stuff. Sits on the bench, while reloading streaming music, watching youtube. I have a Surface pad that the prochrono software should work with but would have to make a different cable compatible with the W8 USB interface. I'll get to it eventually.

    Only useful for rifle and wheelguns, useless with a semi-auto which over half my firearms are.

    Great units, I have access to one and used it a few times. Another issue is the weight on the barrel will change your point of impact.
     
  12. F106 Fan

    F106 Fan

    Messages:
    8,203
    Likes Received:
    366
    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2011
    re: Magnetospeed

    I kind of gave up shooting for groups while using the Magnetospeed. So, I shoot a few rounds to get the numbers and then shoot a few more for grouping and zero.

    I shouldn't put all the grouping blame on the chrono however. There is still the matter of my shooting...

    Richard
     
  13. WeeWilly

    WeeWilly

    Messages:
    7,581
    Likes Received:
    5,151
    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2011
    Location:
    Idaho
    Oops, I was typing as Richard was posting... what he said.

    I have a Magnetospeed unit as well. I bought the earlier one than Richard has, I think the newer ones are better for anyone thinking of buying a used one.

    I would take the changing the POI statement one step further. It will change the POI (depending on the barrel contour, it can be significant), but it also acts as a form of "tuner" such that I think it can lead you astray a little when using it to find an optimal charge for the barrel and bullet.

    I still use mine at public ranges for the reasons Richard outlined, but using it is a two step process. First use the Magnetospeed to determine the velocities, then take it off and rerun the ladders for groups. Then you put the two together to get you final optimal velocity.

    When I can use the optical setup (Prochrono), this is done in one ladder.

    YMMV and will be driven by your goals and expectations.

    PS - I really like using my Magnetospeed when developing my shotgun loads. No nervous shooting through the uprights...
     
    Last edited: Apr 19, 2014
  14. Boxerglocker

    Boxerglocker Jacks #1 Fan

    Messages:
    6,208
    Likes Received:
    51
    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2003
    Location:
    Lynnwood, WA
    Don't get me wrong for the shooter that doesn't have unrestricted access to a range bay they are awesome. My rifle development normally consists of doing 5-10 loads at varying weights through the load range, followed by a ladder or group shooting session. Once I get the best group I start playing with OAL a little to fine tune. After then and only then do I actually chrono so by then the lad is pretty much settled on. At that time yeah it would be supper convenient to just sit on a public bench line and hook up the Magneto speed and go at it for 10 shots.
     
  15. dave333

    dave333

    Messages:
    168
    Likes Received:
    19
    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2009
    I just got a caldwell chrono a couple weeks ago, it works great. The app lets you make notes about load data, shoot your strings over it and it does all your math for you. Store your data within the app or email it to yourself or a friend. I shot in direct sun, full and partial shade and it didn't miss a single shot. Heck, it didn't even run the phone battery down. I'm completely satisfied.


    Posted using Outdoor Hub Campfire
     
  16. btefft

    btefft U S Veteran

    Messages:
    2,472
    Likes Received:
    250
    Joined:
    May 4, 2008
    Location:
    I live in Columbus, Ga.
    I searched "chronograph" and discovered this thread. I actually own a Caldwell Precision Chronograph and use my cell phone app to connect to it.

    It worked great - for about two sessions. Now, it's gone crazy. The thing reads Error 3, Error 2, 20, 4, Error 2, Error 3, 1, 5, Error 3, etc NON-STOP. And it is doing it, while just sitting there, I'm not even shooting over it while its doing it.

    I contacted Mat Stepanovic at Battenfield. Here's his reply:

    Thank you for contacting us regarding your chronograph. We are currently working on resolving a QA issue involving the sensors on our chronographs. If your chronograph is producing error readings without prompting, then you have an affected unit.
    We are currently reworking the chronographs that we have on hand. If you provide me with your mailing information, then I can send you are replacement once I have one available. Unfortunately, it may be 2-3 weeks before I can send it.
    I apologize for any inconvenience this may cause and appreciate your understanding and patience while we resolve the issue.

    Thank you,

    Mat Stepanovic
    Customer Service Specialist
    Battenfeld Technologies

    Well, I'm reserving judgement until I get the new unit or until a month was passed.