Glock Forum - GlockTalk banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
3,128 Posts
Don't know about the lights, but Midway has the ProChrono DLX for $110.

Reactions: DubfromGA

·
Florida's Left Coast
9,515 Posts
I used to have the "Caldwell Ballistic Precision Chronograph Premium Kit". Broke the unit, but still have the lights.

https://www.amazon.com/dp/B00HTN5290/?tag=thegunzone-20

I'm considering a ProChrono DLX and thought I might be able to use the lights from my Caldwell.

Seems to me like they would, but wanted to see if anyone else had tried this.
I bought the light kit with my DLX, but have had no need to use it yet. You could go ahead and get the DLX and try the Caldwell lights, I suppose. Get the light kit later if you need to.

·
Registered
2,474 Posts
Recently got a chrono, so I'm new to using one. Is a light needed indoors? Seems the the only issue I have is too much light if it isn't cloudy.

·
Registered
3,441 Posts
Depends on what chronograph you recently got but most do require light to work. Not only that but certain types of light are required for them.

They are in essence a stopwatch that starts when the bullet creates a shadow over the first sensor and stops when the shadow is over the 2nd, it then calculates how long it took the bullet to move the distance between the two and convert that to a FPS for the display.

If your in the dark, that style can"t see the bullets shadow because it doesn't exist. Further if you are using fluorescent light, that will also not work, because they are not continuously on. They cycle on and off really fast, so fast you can't tell (60Hz in the US) but a chronograph can.