Glock Talk banner

Choosing an MOS

1239 Views 13 Replies 8 Participants Last post by  Bren
Hello all,

So I am currently having the problem of choosing the best Army career for me at the moment. I have a bachelors of social science and I have really been thinking about two things I want to do. My main objective is to serve, help people, and really just make a difference. I have been working through the process of putting my packet in for Warrant officer (Aviation), but I have also been thinking about pursuing PSYOP. My scores on the ASVAB were good and I passed everything at MEPS easily. If you have any recommendations, suggestions, or just advice on either of these two (or any other MOS's) I would so very much appreciate it.
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

· Banned
28,198 Posts
37F is a desk job and flying is not. No one cares about your GT score unless it's below 110 and MEPS isn't an indicator of anything other than you aren't currently broken or deformed.

You'll have to a do a better job of narrowing down your MOS than you already have if those are the only two options.

To do it all over again I'd opt for something that translates to the civilian world because you'll be one again and starting over from scratch sucks.

· Registered
8,591 Posts
So I am currently having the problem of choosing the best Army career for me at the moment. I have a bachelors of social science ...

... (or any other MOS's) I would so very much appreciate it.
With a 4 year degree you should see about being Commissioned Officer. Now with Aviation, do you have an aptitude for it?

Have you taken an aptitude test and see what you are strong in? Mine was Law Enforcement so I was a Military Policeman and later a civilian Lawman. What I will suggest is being a Paratrooper.

· Banned
28,198 Posts
With a 4 year degree you should see about being Commissioned Officer. Now with Aviation, do you have an aptitude for it?