close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Choosing a book on self defense

Discussion in 'The Book Rack' started by clklez3, Oct 8, 2004.

1. clklez3

clklez3

I am having trouble picking between these three books:

1) Principles of Personal Defense by Jeff Cooper
    2) In the Gravest Extreme: The Role of the Fiream in Personal Protection by Massad Ayoob
    3) Armed and Female by Paxton Quigley

I am no expert in self defense. I am just looking for a primer. I will probably get all of these books eventually, but I just want one for now. I usually read poetry or fiction. I have poetry by Emily Dickinson, Adrienne Rich, Judy Grahn and Marge Piercy. I love to read Charles Dickens, Edgar Allen Poe and Mark Twain. As you can see I like to read books that are a bit dreamy and so I feel a little lost looking for a self defense manual. I would like to know which of these books offers the most interesting read. I don't want to fall asleep while reading about such an important subject.
    I have only been shooting a couple of years nows, but I really enjoy my time at the range and take it very seriously. I have a CCW and I am trying to get out to the range at least twice a month. I still have a flinch, but I am trying to work that out with my .22. I also have a G26 and three other handguns. I am starting to ramble. The question was which of these three books should I start with? Any opinions or comments are appreciated. I also would like to know if any of these books are a waste of time and money. Let me know what you folks think. Thanks.

2. federali

federali

This book is primarily intended for retailers. However, only one chapter is retailer specific. The rules for a successful firearms encounter are the same whether you're a private citizen, a cop or a retailer. Merchants at War thoroughly covers much of what you need to know. It's available from Varro Press, Shawnee Mission, Kansas.