Chinese Broccoli - the best vegetable?

Discussion in 'Food Forum' started by fnfalman, Jan 26, 2005.

1. fnfalman

fnfalman Chicks Dig It

I am a meat kind of guy but I do realize the importance of eating vegetables albeit I'm not too crazy about the tastes of most veggies...except for the Chinese Broccoli, that is. Also known as gai-lan (phonetically speaking) in Cantonese, you can cook this thing in a multitude of ways: steamed, broiled, sauteed, dipped in peanut oil, etc.

It tastes quite good with a wonderful texture. And supposedly it has a lot of good "green" stuff that makes vegetables good for your body. Hey, I'm an engineer, not a biologist or a dietician. But I do know that it has lots of fiber because it really helps "clean" you out in a very good way.;J

And it doesn't look or even taste like Broccoli.[​IMG]

[​IMG]
    [​IMG]

2. S2nd

S2nd One happy cat

I read about the benefits of eating one vegetarian dinner a week, and by far my favorite is stir-frying gai lan with oyster sauce over sesame oil, then pushing it to one side of the pan to cook slabs of tofu. It is definitely one of my favorite veggies too.

Mmmm... hungry ^7

3. S2nd

S2nd One happy cat

P.S. Why do the Asian markets sell vegetables so much cheaper than say, Albertson's and Ralphs? I don't imagine that Gai Lan or Bok Choi is harder to grow than broccoli and lettuce. Marketing?

4. fnfalman

fnfalman Chicks Dig It

They are smart. They make profits in selling massive quantities.

5. Mild Bill

Mild Bill Millennium Member

The Eyetalians call it Broccoli Rabe...

http://whatscookingamerica.net/Vegetables/BroccoliRaab.htm